Docket

50-413, 50-414,

50-369, 50-370,

50-269, 50-270, and 50-287

DISTRIBUTION(w/o encl)

Docket Files NRC/Local PDRs

PDII-3 Reading

L.Berry H.Berkow

R.Martin

V.Nerses L.Wiens

Senior Vice President Nuclear Generation Duke Power Company P. O. Box 1006 Charlotte, North Caro

Mr. M. S. Tuckman

Charlotte, North Carolina 28201

Dear Mr. Tuckman:

SUBJECT: CHARACTERISTICS OF THE DESIGN BASIS VEHICLE - CATAWBA NUCLEAR

STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2; MCGUIRE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2;

OCONEE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1, 2, AND 3

On June 30, 1994, the Commission approved a final rule amending 10 CFR Part 73 associated with protection against malevolent use of vehicles at nuclear power plants. The rule change modifies the design basis threat for radiological sabotage to include use of a land vehicle. The rule change also requires vehicle control measures, including vehicle barrier systems, to protect against the malevolent use of a land vehicle. The vehicle barrier system design requires that the system stop the forward motion of the design basis vehicle (DBV). The enclosure to this letter describes the characteristics of the design basis vehicle. Please note that the DBV is Safeguards Information and should be handled accordingly.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY:

Herbert N. Berkow, Director Project Directorate II-3 Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

9407250178 940718 PDR ADOCK 05000269 F PDR

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/o enclosure: See next page

OFFICE	PDII-3/LAO	POYI-3/PM	PDI 1-JA/PM	PDII-3APM	PDII-3/D
NAME	L. BERRY	R. MARTIN	NERSES	VIENS	H. BERKOW
DATE	7/14/94	71/9/94 1	71/994	71/5/94	7/18/94

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

FILE NAME: G:\VEHICLE.LTR

SG - Violation of protection requirements SAFEGUARDS INFORMATION subject to CIVIL and CRIMINAL Penalties Enclosure contains SAFEGUARDS INFORMATION Upon removal of enclosure this document is decontrolled.

210100



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 18, 1994

Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, 50-370,

50-269, 50-270, and 50-287

Mr. M. S. Tuckman Senior Vice President Nuclear Generation Duke Power Company P. O. Box 1006 Charlotte, North Carolina 28201

Dear Mr. Tuckman:

SUBJECT: CHARACTERISTICS OF THE DESIGN BASIS VEHICLE - CATAWBA NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2; MCGUIRE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2;

OCONEE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1, 2, AND 3

On June 30, 1994, the Commission approved a final rule amending 10 CFR Part 73 associated with protection against malevolent use of vehicles at nuclear power plants. The rule change modifies the design basis threat for radiological sabotage to include use of a land vehicle. The rule change also requires vehicle control measures, including vehicle barrier systems, to protect against the malevolent use of a land vehicle. The vehicle barrier system design requires that the system stop the forward motion of the design basis vehicle (DBV). The enclosure to this letter describes the characteristics of the design basis vehicle. Please note that the DBV is Safeguards Information and should be handled accordingly.

Sincerely,

Hérbert N. Berkow, Director Project Directorate Il-3

Division of Reactor Projects - I/II
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/o enclosure: See next page

SG - Violation of protection requirements SAFEGUARDS INFORMATION subject to C:VIL and CRIMINAL Penalties Enclosure contains SMFEGUARDS INFORMATION Upon removal of enclosure this document is decontrolled.

Duke Power Company

cc:
Dr. John M. Barry
Meckienburg County
Department of Environmental
Protection
700 N Tryon Street
Charlotte, North Carolina 29202

County Manager of Mecklenburg County 720 East Fourth Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Mr. J. E. Snyder
Regulatory Compliance Manager
Duke Power Company MGO1RC
McGuire Nuclear Site
12700 Hagers Ferry Road
Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Senior Resident Inspector c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Mr. Dayne H. Brown, Director
Department of Environmental
Health and Natural Resources
Division of Radiation Protection
P. O. Box 27687
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Office of Intergovernmental Relations 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27621

County Supervisor of Oconee County Walhalla, South Carolina 27621

Mr. J. W. Hampton Vice President, Oconee Site Duke Power Company P. O. Box 1439 Seneca, South Carolina 29679 Catawba Nuclear Station McGuire Nuclear Station Oconee Nuclear Station

Mr. Steve Benesole Compliance Duke Power Company Oconee Nuclear Site P. O. Box 1439 Seneca, South Carolina 29679

Mr. Robert B. Borsum
Babcock & Wilcox
Nuclear Power Division
Suite 525
1700 Rockville Pike
Rockville, Maryland 20852

Manager, LIS NUS Corporation 2650 McCormick Drive, 3rd Floor Clearwater, Flordia 34619-1035

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 2, Box 610 Seneca, South Carolina 29678

Mr. David L. Rehn Vice President, Catawba Site Duke Power Company 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. T. C. McMeekin Vice President, McGuire Site Duke Power Company 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Elaine Wathen, Lead REP Planner Division of Emergency Management 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-1335 Duke Power Company

cc: Mr. Z. L. Taylor Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Power Company 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

A. V. Carr, Esquire Duke Power Company 422 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28242

J. Michael McGarry, III, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW. Washington, DC 20005

North Carolina Municipal Power
Agency Number I
1427 Meadowwood Boulevard
P. O. Box 29513
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626

Mr. T. Richard Puryear Nuclear Technical Services Manager Westinghouse Electric Corporation Carolinas District 2709 Water Ridge Parkway, Suite 430 Charlotte, North Carolina 28217

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

Richard P. Wilson, Esquire Assistant Attorney General S.C. Attorney General's Office P. O. Box 11549 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Drive Greer, South Carolina 29651 Catawba Nuclear Station McGuire Nuclear Station Oconee Nuclear Station

Mr. Marvin Sinkule, Chief Project Branch #3 U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street, NW Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323

North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation P. O. Box 27306 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Saluda River Electric Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 929 Laurens, South Carolina 29360

Senior Resident Inspector Route 2, Box 179N York, South Carolina 29745

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street, NW Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Max Batavia, Chief Bureau of Radiological Health South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Ms. Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General North Carolina Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. G. A. Copp Licensing - ECO50 Duke Power Company P. O. Box 1006 Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006