



NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

JUN 27 1994

Docket: 50-298 License: DPR-46

Nebraska Public Power District

ATTN: Guy R. Horn, Vice President - Nuclear

P.O. Box 98

Brownville, Nebraska 68321

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT 50-298/94-17

This refers to the inspection conducted by Mr. Anthony D. Gaines of this office on June 6-10, 1994. The inspection included a review of activities authorized for your Cooper Nuclear Station facility. At the conclusion of the inspection, the findings were discussed with you and those members of your staff identified in the enclosed report.

Areas examined during the inspection are identified in the report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observation of activities in progress. The results of this inspection are documented in the enclosed report.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosures will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this inspection, we will be pleased to discuss them with you.

Sincerely,

Samuel J. Collins, Director Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Appendix - NRC Inspection Report 50-298/94-17

cc w/enclosure: Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: G. D. Vatson, General Counsel P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nepraska 68602-0499

9406300005 940627 PDR ADDCK 05000298 Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: Mr. David A. Whitman P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality ATTN: Randolph Wood, Director P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners ATTN: Larry Bohlken, Chairman Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Nebraska De; artment of Health ATTN: Harold Borchert, Director Division of Radiological Health 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Department of Natural Resources ATTN: R. A. Kucera, Department Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Kansas Radiation Control Program Director

Nebraska Public Power District

-3-

E-Mail report to D. Sullivan (DJS)

bcc to DMB (IEO6)

bcc distrib. by RIV:

L. J. Callan

Branch Chief (DRP/C)

Branch Chief (DRP/TSS)

RIV File

MIS System

CNS Resident Inspector

Leah Tremper, OC/LFDCB, MS: MNBB 4503

DRSS-FIPB (Hodges)

Project Engineer (DRP/C) Senior Resident inspector - River Bend

Senior Resident Inspector - Fort Calhoun

J. H. Reese, WCFO (DRSS/FIPB) A. D. Gaines, DRSS/FIPB

RIV: FIPB ADG	C:FIPB E-MAN	DD: DRSS 8	DIDRE	D: PRSS
ADGaines:nh	JHReese 1	RAScarano	ABheach	Sacollins_
6/16/94	6//6/94	6 12/94	6/20x94	6/12/94

Nebraska Public Power District

E-Mail report to D. Sullivan (DJS)

bcc to DMB (IEO6) 1

bcc distrib. by RIV:

L. J. Callan Branch Chief (DRP/C) MIS System Branch Chief (DRP/TSS) RIV File

Senior Resident Inspector - Fort Calhoun J. H. Reese, WCFO (DRSS/FIPB) A. D. Gaines, DRSS/FIPB

CNS Resident Inspector Leah Tremper, OC/LFDCB, MS: MNBB 4503 DRSS-FIPB (Hodges) Project Engineer (DRP/C) Senior Resident Inspector - River Bend

RIV: FIPB ADG	C:FIPB E-Mark	DD: DRSS 80%	DOBR	D: PRSS
ADGaines:nh	JHReese JAR	RAScarano	ABbeach	Sacollins
6/16/94	6/16/94	6 13/94	6/20x94	6/21/94