FRANK L. SNELL

EDWARD JACOBSON
FREDERICK K. STEINER, JR.
JOHN P. PHILLIPS
RICHARD MALLERY
JON S. COHEN
GUY G. GELBRON
GUY G. GERARD MARY J. LEADER
ROBERT J. DEENY
ROBERT J. DEENY
ROBERT J. B. HOFFMAN JOHN P. PHILLIPS
RICHARD MALLERY
JON S. COMEN
GUYG. GELBRON
GEORGE M. LYONS
BRUCE D. PINIGREE
JAMES W. REYNOLDS
MARY J. LEADER
ROBERT J. DEENY
ROBERT B. HOFFMAN
LAWRENCE F. WINTHROP
RICHARD M. MANRLE
CHARLES A. BISCHOFF
ROGER K. SPENCET
RICHARD W. SHEFFIELD
JAMES A. MARTIN
SUSAN G. WINTERMUTE
THOMAS J. RENNEDY
BRENT D. ELLSWORTH
PETER G. SANTIN
JOHN BERRY
JOSEPH A. DUNN
JANNA P. BRADY
KAREN E. STRATTON
KIMBERLY J. GRABER
MARGARET L. STEINER

GERARD MORALES

JOSEPH T. MELCZER, JR. MAYNARD P. GOUDY JOHN J. BOUMA H. WILLIAM FOX H. WILLIAM FOX LOPEN W. COUNCE, JR. WARREN E. PLATT WILLIAM A. HICKS, III DANIEL J. MAQULIFFE DONALD D. COLBURN MICHAEL D. TERRY GREG R. NIELSEN GREG R. NIELSEN
WILLIAM R. HAYDEN
MICHAEL S. MILROY
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPERN
JOEL P. HOXIE
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHN A. CRAMFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
RICHARD C. UNDERWOOD
SUZANNE MECANN
ARTHUR T. ANDERSON
PHILIP M. PRINCE
JOYCE KLINE WRIGHT
DAVID A. SPRENTALL GERARD MORALES
MARCIA J. BUSCHING
KENNETH D. NYMAN
JAMES R. CONDO
CHARLES H. TRAEGER, BI
STEVEN C. BARCLAY
MICHAEL R. PALUMBO
WILLIAM D. FEARNOW
MICHAEL GOULDING
J. MICHAEL G. MICHAEL
L. NILROY
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
RICHAEL S. MICROY
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT J. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
ROBERT L. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
ROBERT L. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
ROBERT L. GIBSON
BARRY D. HALPER
LONNIE J. WILLIAMS, JR.
VAUGHA. CRAWFORD
ROBERT L. PALMER
ROBERT

LAW OFFICES

SNELL & WILMER

3100 VALLEY BANK CENTER 183 APR -1 PAHOENIX ARIZONA 85073 (602) 257-7211

TELEX 165088 TELECOPIERS: MANUAL (602) 257-7211 AUTOMATIC (602) 256-2735

DIRECT LINE: 257-7368

MARCH 29, 1983

Robert M. Lazo, Esq., Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Dixon Callihan Administrative Judge Union Carbide Corporation P.O. Box Y Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

Dr. Richard F. Cole Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

> Re: In the Matter of ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY, ET AL., (Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station, Units 1, 2 and 3) Docket Nos. STN 50-528, STN 50-529 and STN 50-530

Dear Administrative Judges:

On February 2, 1983, the West Valley Agricultural Protection Council ("West Valley"), filed a "Motion for Ruling on Contentions, for Declaration that NEPA Analysis is Inadequate and for Continuance of Proceedings." Both the Joint Applicants and the NRC Staff filed timely responses to the West Valley motion.

8304060285 830329 PDR ADDCK 05000528 PDR

D503

Page Two March 29, 1983

On February 23, 1983, Ms. Patricia Lee Hourihan, through her counsel, filed a late response to the West Valley motion, accompanied by a Motion for Leave to File that response. Joint Applicants, on March 7, 1983, filed their response to Ms. Hourihan's motion, detailing the reasons the late filing should not be accepted. The NRC Staff likewise responded to the Hourihan motion on March 10, 1983. That should have ended the pleadings on the subject, since the rules plainly provide for only a motion and a response thereto; the moving party (here Ms. Hourihan) has no right to reply. 10 CFR §7.230(c).

Ms. Hourihan's counsel has once again blatantly disregarded those regulations and filed what purports to be a "Response to Joint Applicants' and Staff's Motion to Strike" her earlier response. As the record will reflect, neither the Joint Applicants nor the Staff filed a motion to strike. They did file responses to Ms. Hourihan's Motion for Leave to file a late response. Ms. Hourihan's cunning effort to misconstrue the pleadings cannot be countenanced.

Ms. Hourihan's latest missive is clearly prohibited by the NRC Rules of Practice. 10 CFR §2.714(a) and 2.730(c). Therefore, Joint Applicants respectfully request that her "Response to Joint Applicants' and Staff's Motion to Strike Intervenor's Motion for Leave to File Response," dated March 20, 1983, be disregarded by the Board. If the Board is inclined to allow the errant filing, however, Joint Applicants would request an opportunity to file a brief reply thereto.

Sincerely,

SNELL & VILME

Counsel for Joint Applicants

VAC:db

cc: Rand L. Greenfield
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Docketing and Service Section
Kenneth Berlin
Ms. Lee Hourihan
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board
Lynne Bernabei, Esq.
Lee Scott Dewey, Esq.