Docket No. 50-329 Docket No. 50-330

Consumers Power Company ATTN: Mr. James W. Cook Vice President Midland Project 1945 West Parnall Road Jackson, MI 49201

This refers to the initial management meeting and routine safety inspection conducted by Mr. W. B. Grant of this office on February 16-18, 1983, of activities at Midland Nuclear Plant, Units 1 and 2, authorized by NRC Construction Permits No. CPPR-81 and CPPR-82 and to the discussion of our findings with Mr. G. Slade on February 25, 1983.

The routine management meeting was conducted to discuss the preoperational and routine operational inspection program concerning radiation protection and radwaste management.

The enclosed copy of our inspection report identifies areas examined during the inspection. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of a selective examination of procedures and representative records, observations, and interviews with personnel.

No items of noncompliance with NRC requirements were identified during the course of this inspection.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790(a), a copy of this letter and the enclosure(s) will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room unless you notify this office, by telephone, within ten days of the date of this letter and submit written application to withhold information contained therein within thirty days of the date of this letter. Such application must be consistent with the requirements of 2.790(b)(1). If we do not hear from you in this regard within the specified periods noted above, a copy of this letter and the enclosed inspection report will be placed in the Public Document Room.

DMB:

8303220215 830303 PDR ADOCK 05000329 Q PDR We will gladly discuss any questions you have concerning this inspection.

Sincerely,

C. J. Paperiello, Chief Emergency Prepardeness and Radiological Safety Branch

Enclosure: Inspection

Report No. 50-329/83-02(DRMS); Report No. 50-330/83-02(DRMS)

cc w/encl:

Wendell Marshall

Colonel Steve J. Gadler (P.E.)

DMB/Document Control Desk (RIDS)
Resident Inspector, RIII
The Honorable Charles Bechhoefer, ASLB
The Honorable Jerry Harbour, ASLB
The Honorable Frederick P. Cowan, ASLB
The Honorable Ralph S. Decker, ASLB
William Paton, ELD
Michael Miller
Ronald Callen, Michigan
Public Service Commission
Yeron M. Cherry
Earbara Stamiris
Mary Sinclair

Grant/jp 3/3/83 Greger

RIII KFW or Shaier

Paperiello