February 11, 1991

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

DOOKETED USNHC

BEFORE THE COMMISSION

'91 FEB 11 P1 52

2507

In the Matter of

11410

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, et al.

Docket Nos. 50-443 OL 50-444 OL 50-443-OL-1 50-444-OL-1

(Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2)

NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO MASSAG'S MOTION FOR SUBSTITUTION OF A PARTY

On January 24, 1991, the Massachusetts Attorney General filed a motion for substitution of a party, requesting that Scott Harshbarger replace of James M. Shannon as Intervenor in all Seabrook proceedings pending before the NRC. Motion for Substitution of a Party, at 1-2. Inasmuch as Mr. Shannon's term of office as the Attorney General for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts expired on January 15, 1991, and Scott Harshbarger, the newly elected Attorney General for the Commonwealth, was sworn into office on January 16, 1991, the Staff has no objection to the motion.

Respectfully submitted,

Thurs Mitz A. Young

Counsel for NRC Staff

Dated in Rockville, Maryland this 11th day of February, 1991

USNRC

'91 FEB 11 P1:52

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

BEFORE THE COMMISSION

UPPICE OF SECRUTARY DOCKETING & SERVICE BRANCH

In the atter of

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, et al. Docket Nos. 50-443 OL 50-444 OL 50-443-OL-1 50-444-OL-1

(Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of "NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO MASSAG'S MOTION FOR SUBSTITUTION OF A PARTY" in the above captioned proceeding have been served on the following by deposit in the United States mail, first class or, as indicated by an asterisk, by deposit in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's internal mail system, and as indicated by double asterisks, by express mail, this 11th day of February 1991:

Ivan W. Smith, Chairman (2)*
Administrative Judge
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Richard F. Cole* Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Kenneth A. McCollom** Administrative Judge 1107 West Knapp Street Stillwater, OK 74705 Thomas G. Dignan, Jr., Esq.** Robert K. Gad, III, Esq. Ropes & Gray One International Place Boston, MA 02110-2624

Peter Brann, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General State House Station 6 Augusta, ME 04333

Diane Curran, Esq.** Harmon, Curran & Tousley 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009 Stephen A. Jonas** Leslie Greer Matthew Brock Massachusetts Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

John P. Arnold, Attorney General** George Dana Bisbee Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, NH 03301

Robert A. Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer & Solomon 116 Lowell Street Maachester, NH 03106

H.J. Flynn, Esq.
Assistant General Counsel
Federal Emergency Management
Agency
500 C St.eet, SW
Washington, DC 20472

Jack Dolan Federal Emergency Management Agency Region I J.W. McCormack Post Office & Courthouse Building, Room 442 Boston, MA 02109

Paul McEachern, Esq. Shaines & McEachern 25 Maplewood Avenue P.O. Box 360 Portsmouth, NH 03801

George Hahn, Esq. Attorney for the Examiner Hahn & Hesson 350 5th Ave., Suite 3700 New York, NY 10118 R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esq.
Lagoulis, Hill-Whilton & Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, MA 01950

Allen Lampert Civil Defense Director Town of Brentwood 20 Franklin Street Exeter, NH 03833

William Armstrong Civil Defense Director Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833

Gary W. Holmes, Esq. Holmes & Ellis 47 Winnacunnet Road Hampton, NH 03842

Barbara J. Saint André, Esc
Kopelman and Paige, P.C.
Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport & Salisbury
101 Arch St/eet
Boston, MA 02110

Judith H. Mizner, Esq. Counsel for West Newbury 79 State Street Newburyport, MA 01950

Robert Carrigg, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town Office Atlantic Avenue North Hampton, NH 03862

Mrs. Anne E. Goodman, Chuirman Board of Selectmen 13-15 Newmarket Road Durham, NH 03824 Richard R. Donovan Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Regional Center 130 228th Street, SW Bothell, WA 98021-9755

Peter J. Matthews, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

Michael Santosuosso, Chairman Board of Selectmen South Hampton, NH 03827

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. Town Counsel for Merrimac 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, MA 01835

Suzanne Breiseth Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

George Iverson, Director NH Office of Emergency Management State House Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03301 Jane Doherty, Director Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Michael C. Sinclair Graystone Emergency Management Associates 13 Summer Street Hillsboro, NH 03244

Robert R. Pierce, Esq.* Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel (6)* U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel (1)* U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Office of the Secretary (2)* U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555 Attn: Docketing and Service Section

Senior Supervisory Trial Attorney