JAN 17 1991

Docket No. 50-443

Public Service Company of New Hampshire
ATTN: Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum
President and Chief Executive Officer
New Hampshire Yankee (NHY) Division
Post Office Box 300
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Gentlemen:

Subject: Seabrook Station Inspection 50-443/90-24 (11/16/90 - 1/3/91)

This refers to the above subject safety inspection. The inspection results are described in the enclosed report and were discussed with Mr. B. Drawbridge of your staff.

This inspection found safe plant operation and maintenance. Review of a modification to concrete cable vaults concluded that your maintenance and quality control personnel questioned the design dimensions of a boring tool. However, it appears that this skepticism was either not pursued or evaluated and, as a result, larger than anticipated holes were drilled. Although this did not result in a deficient product, we believe that this issue warrants additional review to ensure that it does not have a chilling effect on your maintenance staff. It is our understanding that you will evaluate this situation and notify the senior resident inspector of your conclusions.

Two documentation discrepancies were identified: missing radiographs for a construction field weld and absence of documentation for approval of overtime. The radiograph discrepancy is considered unresolved pending additional review and evaluation by your staff; the overtime discrepancy was assessed as minor and as acceptably corrected.

Thank you for your cooperation in these matters.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY:

Jon R. Johnson, Chief Projects Branch No. 3 Division of Reactor Projects

160

Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report 50-443/90-24

cc w/encl:

L. E. Maglathlin, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, PSNH

J. M. Peschel, Regulatory Compliance Manager, NHY

D. E. Moody, Station Manager, NHY

T. Harpster, Director of Licensing Services, NHY

R. M. Kacich, Manager of Generation Facilities Licensing, NUSCO

J. F. Opeka, Executive Vice President, NU

G. Garfield, Esquire

R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant

Public Document Room (PDR)

Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

NRC Resident Inspector

State of New Hampshire, SLO

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee

Seabrook Hearing Service List

Public Service Company of New Hampshire

bcc w/encl:

Region I Docket Room (when ancurrences) Management Assistant, DRMA (w/o encl)

E. McCabe, DRP

N. Dudley - Seabrook (w/concurrences)

G. Edison, NRR

K. Abraham, PAO (20) SALP Reports and (2) Inspection Reports

J. Johnson, DRP

J. Caldwell, EDO

J. Joyner, DRSS

C. Anderson, DRS (see Detail 2.5)

R. Keimig, DRSS (see Detail 5.2)

W. Lazarus, DRSS (see Detail 6.0)

bcc w/Overview Only

J. Wiggins, DRP

C. Hehl, DRP

M. Knapp, DRSS

M. Hodges, DRS

L. Bettenhausen, DRS

J. Durr, DRS

RI:DRP

(m) 8-Dudley/meo

1/40/91 10

RI:DRP

m

McCabe A 1/16

RI:DRP

Johnson 1117

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

A:SB9024, MEO

concurred un Detant 82 on 1/16 by plant

SEABROOK HEARING SERVICE LIST

Robert A. Backus, Esq.
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Phillip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General State House Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Ms. Suzanne Breiseth Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03344

Mr. R. Sweeney
New Hampshire Yankee Division
Public Service Company of New Hampshire
Suite 610, Three Metro Center
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Administrative Judge
Alan S. Rosenthal, Chairman
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge
Emmeth A. Luebke
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Paul McEachern, Esq.
Shaines and McEachern
25 Maplewood Avenue
Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
442 J. W. McCormack (POCH)
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Gerald Garfield, Esq.
Day, Berry and Howard
City Place
Hartford, Connecticut 56103-3499

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack U.S. Senate 531 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Administrative Judge
Howard A. Wilber
Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge
Thomas S. Moore, Esq.
Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge
Jerry Harbour
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

H. Joseph Flynn, Esq. Assistant General Counsel Federal Emergency Management Agency Washington, D.C. 20472 R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esq.
Suzanne P. Egan, Esq.
Lagoulis, Hill-Whilton
& Rozondi
70 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Edwin J. Reis, Esq.
Office of the General Counsel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Chairman, Board of Selectmen
P. O. Box 710
North Hampton, New Hampshire 03862

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
825 North Capitol Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Mr. Gary W. Holmes, Esq. Holmes and Ellis 47 Winnacunnet Road Hampton, New Hampshire 03842

Administrative Judge
G. Paul Bollwerk, III, Chairman
Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Diane Curran, Esq.
Andrea Fenster, Esq.
Harmon, Curran, & Tousley
2001 S Street, N.W.
Suite 430
Washington, D.C. 20009

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. 145 Main Street P. O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 08130

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Administrative Judge Ivan W. Snith, Chairman (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

John Traficonte, Esq.
Chief, Nuclear Safety Unit
Office of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place
19th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Administrative Judge Kenneth A. McCollom 1107 West Knapp Street Stillwater, Oklahoma 74057

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
Panel Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Seabrook Hearing Service List

Administrative Judge
Richard F. Cole
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Robert R. Pierce, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Barbara J. Saint Andre, Esq. Kopleman and Paige, P.C. 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

John P. Arnold, Attorney General George Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 Mitzi A. Young Attorney Office of the General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U.S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

Judith H. Mizner, Esq.
Counsel for West Newbury
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 2055