NOV 2 7 1990

Docket No. 50-395 License No. NPF-12

Sec. 1

South Carolina Electric & Gas Company ATTN: Mr. John L. Skolds Vice President, Nuclear Operations Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station P. O. Box 88 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION NUCLEAR RADIATION EMERGENCY PLAN, REVISION 28

We have completed our review of Revision 28 to your Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Radiation Emergency Plan. Based on our review, we have concluded that the changes meet the planning standards of 10 CFR 50.47(b) and the requirements of Appendix E to 10 CFR 50.

Please be reminded that 10 CFR 50.54(q) requires that proposed changes that decrease the effectiveness of your Emergency Plan shall not be implemented without application to and approval by the Commission. However, changes may be made without Commission approval if such changes do not decrease the effectiveness of the Plan, and the Plan, as changed, continues to meet the standards of 10 CFR 50.47(b) and the requirements of Appendix E to 10 CFR 50. If a change is made without approval, you should furnish copies in accordance with 10 CFR 50.54(q). Also, any changes to the Emergency Plan Implementing Procedures should be made in accordance with the requirements of 10 CFR 50, Appendix E, Section V.

Should you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Mr. William H. Rankin of our staff at 404-331-5618.

Sincerely,

Willen H. Raski ha

Douglas M. Collins, Chief Radiological Protection and Emergency Preparedness Branch Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards

cc: (See page 2)

9012140114 901127 PDR ADOCK 05000395 PNU

Mulal

South Carolina Electric & Gas Company 2

cc: G. G. Soult, General Manager Nuclear Plant Operations Summer Nuclear Station P. O. Box 88 (Mail Code 300) Jenkinsville, SC 29065

e. 1 . .

A. R. Koon, Jr., Manager Nuclear Licensing Summer Nuclear Station P. O. Box 88 (Mail Code 830) Jenkinsville, SC 29065

J. B. Knotts, Jr. Bishop, Cook, Purcell & Reynolf 1400 L Street, NW Washington, D. C. 20005-3502

R. V. Tanner
Executive Vice President
South Carolina Public
Service Authority
P. O. Box 398
Moncks Corner, SC 29461-0398

Chairman, Fairfield County Council P. O. Box 293 Winnsboro, SC 29180 Attorney General Box 11549 Columbia, SC 29211

Heyward G. Shealy, Chief Bureau of Radiological Health South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, SC 29201

bcc: J. J. Hayes, NRR Document Control Desk DRP Section Chief

> NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 1, Box 64 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

RII: DRSS	RII: DRSS	RII
65alyers 11/2490	WRankin 40 11/2790	70 FCantrell 11/ /90