U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION I NOTICE OF SIGNIFICANT MEETING

Licensee:

Northeast Utilities

Facilities:

Seabrook Station

Millstone Nuclear Power Station

Docket Nos.:

50 - 245, -336, -423, -443

Time and Date:

9:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., April 14, 1994

Location:

Division of Reactor Safety (DRS) Conference Room, Region I

Purpose:

Management Meeting to Discuss Millstone Station Performance and Initiatives as well as Seabrook Station Performance and Preparations for the Upcoming Refueling Outage

NRC Attendees:

- T. Martin, Regional Administrator
- J. Wiggins, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)
- C. Hehl, Director, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, (DRSS)
- J. Durr, Acting Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)
- L. Doerflein, Chief, DRP Section 4A
- J. Rogge, Chief, DRP Section 4B
- P. Swetland, Senior Resident Inspector, Millstone A. Cerne, Senior Resident Inspector, Seabrook

Licensee Attendees:

- R. Anderson, Planning and Scheduling Coordinator, Seabrook
- W. Diprofio, Station Manager, Seabrook Station
- B. Drawbridge, Executive Director Nuclear Production, Seabrook Station
- T. Feigenbaum, President and Chief Executive Officer, North Atlantic Energy Service Company (NAESCo)
- T. Harpster, Manager, Licensing Services, Seabrook Station
- R. Kacich, Director, Nuclear Planning, Licensing and Budgeting, Northeast Utilities
- D. Miller, Senior Vice President Millstone Station
- J. Opeka, Executive Vice President Nuclear, Northeast Utilities
- L. Rau, Manager Reliability and Safety, Seabrook Station
- P. Richardson, Training Manager, Seabrook Station

GERICIAL RECORD COPY

9404210233 940401 PDR ADDCK 05000245 PDR NOTE:

This meeting is open to the public. Attendance by NRC personnel at this meeting should be made known by April 11, 1994, via telephone call to Larry Doerflein, Region I, at 610/337-5378. Handicapped persons requiring assistance to attend or participate in this meeting shall make their requests known to Larry Doerflein, USNRC, Region I, 475 Allendale Rd., King of Prussia, PA 19406, (610) 337-5378, no later than two business days prior to the meeting.

Prepared by:

Phenard A. Bould Lawrence T. Doerflein, Chief

Reactor Projects Section 4A, PB4, DRP

Distribution (Via E-Mail):

- J. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations (EDO)
- J. Milhoan, Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Regional Operations and Research (DEDR)
- H. Thompson, Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Material Safety, Safeguards and Operations Support (DEDS)
- B. Grimes, Director, Division of Operating Reactor Support, NRR
- C. Rossi, Director, Reactor Inspection & Licensee Performance, NRR
- J. Lieberman, Director, Office of Enforcement
- S. Lewis, Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
- W. Russell, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- A. Thadani, Associate Director for Inspection and Technical Assessment, NRR
- S. Varga, Director, Division of Reactor Projects I/II, NRR
- J. Calvo, Assistant Director for Region I Reactors, NRR
- S. Bajwa, RPEB/NRR
- V. McCree, Regional Coordinator, OEDO
- N. Green, Jr., Policy Development and Technical Support Branch
- J. Stolz, Project Directorate I-4, NRR
- A. Wang, Project Manager, NRR
- W. Raymond, Senior Resident Inspector, Haddam Neck
- Region I Section Chiefs
- K. Abraham, Public Affairs Officer, RI
- D. Screnci, Field Public Affairs Officer, RI
- M. Miller, State Liaison Officer, RI
- C. Gordon, State Agreements Officer, RI
- K. Smith, Regional Attorney, RI
- D. Holody, Enforcement Officer, RI
- B. Letts, Office of Investigations, Region I Field Office
- P. Jefferson, DRMA, RI

Distribution:

Public Document Room (PDR)
Local Public Document Room (LPDR)
State of Connecticut
State of New Hampshire
Regional Administrator Secretary, RI
DRP Division Secretary, RI
DRSS Division Secretary, RI
DRMA Division Secretary, RI
Projects Branch No. 4, Secretary, RI
Region I Receptionist

RI:DRP Doerflein

03/11/94

SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire
John A. Ritscher, Esquire
Ropes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. T. L. Harpster North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. David W. Graham
Fuel Supply Planning Manager
Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale
Electric Company
P. O. Box 426
Ludlow, Massachusetts 01056

Gerald Garfield, Esquire
Day, Berry and Howard
City Place
Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Stephen G. Burns, Director Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913 Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office and
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109