## THE CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY



E. A. BORGMANN SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT

Docket No. 50-358

September 30, 1982

Mr. Harold Denton, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

RE: WM. H. ZIMMER NUCLEAR POWER STATION UNIT 1 - AMENDMENT 139 - SUBMITTAL OF
REVISION 87 TO THE FSAR INCLUDING
RESPONSE TO NRC LETTERS DATED JULY 8 & 22, 1982

Dear Mr. Denton:

The Cincinnati Gas & Electric Company on behalf of itself and as agent for Columbus and Southern Ohio Electric Company and The Dayton Power and Light Company hereby submits FSAR changes which constitute Amendment 139 to the Application. It is documented in the FSAR as Revision 87. Included in this revision is a response to an NRC letter dated July 8, 1982, designated by the Commission as "Concerns Regarding the Adequacy of the Design Margins of the Mark I and II Containment Systems" (Humphrey Concerns), and a response to an NRC letter dated July 22, 1982, designated by the Commission as "NRC Request for Additional Information Regarding Piping Vibration Criteria" (Q423.41). Sixty (60) copies of the information are transmitted.

Pursuant to 10 CFR 2.101, we will within ten days of this filing furnish to the NRC an affidavit reflecting that distribution of appropriate copies has been made to Mr. Robert M. Quillin, Mr. Gary Williams, Mr. Donald R. Hughes, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the Atomic Industrial Forum.

A certificate confirming service of Amendment 139 upon Mr. Dale Romohr, President of the Board of County Commissioners of Clermont County, Ohio, Chief Executive of

B001

To: Mr. Harold Denton, Director

September 30, 1982

Re: Wm. H. Zimmer Nuclear Power Station -

Page #2

Unit 1 - Amendment 139 - Submittal of

Revision 87 to the FSAR Including

Response to NRC Letters dated July 8 & 22, 1982

the County in which the facility is located, will be filed when acknowledgement of the receipt thereof has been obtained.

Very truly yours,

THE CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY

By 6-6. Borgman E. A. BORGMANN

EAB: dew

John H. Frye III cc: M. Stanley Livingston Frank F. Hooper Troy B. Conner, Jr. James P. Fenstermaker Steven G. Smith William J. Moran J. Robert Newlin Samuel H. Porter James D. Flynn W. F. Christianson Lynne Bernabei John D. Woliver Deborah F. Webb David K. Martin George E. Pattison Andrew B. Dennison

State of Ohio )ss County of Hamilton)ss

Sworn to and subscribed before me this \_\_\_\_\_ day of September, 1982.

Alia M Lourch Notary Public

ALICE M. LEURCK

Notary Public, State of Obio My Commission Expires December 16, 1986