

UNITED STATES

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION III
799 ROOSEVELT ROAD
GLEN ELLYN, ILLINOIS 60137

MAY 1 7 1991

Docket No. 50-461

Illinois Power Company
ATTN: Mr. J. S. Perry

Vice President Clinton Power Station Mail Code V-275 Post Office Box 678 Clinton, IL 61727

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NO. 50-461/91007(DRP)

This refers to the routine safety inspection conducted by Messrs. P. G. Brochman, J. F. Schapker, and F. L. Brush of this office from March 26 through April 29, 1991, of activities at Clinton Power Station, authorized by NRC Operating Licensee No. NPF-62, and to the discussion of our findings with you and others of your staff at the conclusion of the inspection.

The enclosed copy of our inspection report identifies areas examined during the inspection. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of a selective examination of procedures and representative records, observations, and interviews with personnel.

No violations of NRC requirements were identified during the course of this inspection. However, we are requesting that your evaluation of the impact on the design basis for control room habitability, due to the presence of a tank of anhydrous ammonia or other hazardous chemicals stored at the Shield Soil Service Company in DeWitt, Illinois, be forwarded to this office within 60 days of receipt of this letter. This issue is discussed further in inspection report paragraph 5 and is tracked as unresolved item 461/91007-01(DRP).

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the Commission's regulations, a copy of this letter and the enclosed inspection report will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

9404120059 910517 PDR ADOCK 05000461 Q PDR

4005 /

We will gladly discuss any questions you have concerning this inspection.

Sincerely,

Edward G. Greenman, Director Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosure: Inspection Report No. 50-461/91007(DRP)

cc w/enclosure: J. Cook, Manager - Clinton Power Station F. Spangenberg, III, Manager -Licensing and Safety DCD/DCB (RIDS) Licensing Fee Management Branch Clinton SRI A. T. Gody, Jr., NRR LPM J. McCaffrey, Chief, Public Utilities Division D. Rosenblatt, Governor's Office of Consumer Services S. Zabel, Esquire, Shiff. Hardin, & Waite Chairman, DeWitt County Board Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Perry SRI R. A. Hasse, RIII