March 22, 1994

Mr. Percy M. Beard, Jr. Senior Vice President, Nuclear Operations Florida Power Corporation ATTN: Manager, Nuclear Licensing (NA2I) Crystal River Energy Complex 15760 W Power Line Street Crystal River, Florida 34428-6708

Dear Mr. Beard:

SUBJECT: CRYSTAL RIVER NUCLEAR GENERATING PLANT UNIT 3 - CORE FLOOD LEVEL INSTRUMENTATION (REGULATORY GUIDE 1.97)

Our letter dated December 16, 1993, forwarded a safety evaluation (SE) relating to accumulator level instrumentation. The SE provided justification for reclassifying core flood tank level and pressure instrumentation from Category 2 to Category 3. By letter dated February 7, 1994, you informed us that, consistent with the SE, the accumulator level and pressure instrumentation will be reclassified as Category 3.

Your February 7, 1994, letter indicates that you will also change the limit switches on the motor operators for the tank discharge valves to Category 3. Your basis for this change is: "Using this same justification [i.e, SE], FPC has determined that the limit switches on the motor operators for the tank discharge valves can also be reclassified as Category 3 since they perform a similar function." The reclassification of subject limit switches is not addressed in our SE. Your letter neither requested our approval of this additional change nor did it provide any detailed information regarding the function of the limit switches for us to make a determination on the acceptability of reclassifying them. Your unilateral extrapolation of our December 16, 1993 SE for reclassifying the limit switches without our review, irrespective of its safety significance, is inappropriate and is not acceptable.

The limit switches should continue to be classified as Category 2 until you make specific submittal for our review and approval of their reclassification. If you have any questions, please call me at (301) 504-1471.

Sincerely.

L. Raghavan, Project Manager Project Directorate II-2 Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

125 3	A	5. 2			12		
UTS	Tr	I DUT	100	1000	300	next	page
20. 6 44		a and the set	1. 10. 11		1997 Mar. 1997	1 + her was her .	part had not had

Office	LA: PDII-2	PM:PDII-2	PD:PD1I-2	HICB	
Name	ETana	LRaghavan LP	HBerkow	JWErmiel	
Date	/ /94	3 /21/94	3/2/94	3/2.2/94	

9403300215 940322 PDR ADDCK 05000302 P PDR

280032

NRC FILE CENTER COPY

Mr. Percy M. Beard Florida Power Corporation

Mr. Gerald A. Williams Corporate Counsel Florida Power Corporation MAC-A5A P. O. Box 14042 St. Petersburg, Florida 33733

Mr. Bruce J. Hickle, Director Nuclear Plant Operations (NA2C) Florida Power Corporation Crystal River Energy Complex 15760 W. Power Line Street Crystal River, Florida 34428-6708

Mr. Robert B. Borsum B&W Nuclear Technologies 1700 Rockville Pike, Suite 525 Rockville, Maryland 20852

Regional Administrator, Region II U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street N.W., Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Mr. Bill Passetti Office of Radiation Control Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services 1317 Winewood Blvd. Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0700

Attorney General Department of Legal Affairs The Capitol Tallahaseee, Florida 32304 Crystal River Unit No.3 Generating Plant

Mr. Joe Myers, Director Div. of Emergency Preparedness Department of Community Affairs 2740 Centerview Drive Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

Chairman Board of County Commissioners Citrus County 110 North Apopka Avenue Inverness, Florida 32650

Mr. Rolf C. Widell, Director Nuclear Operations Site Support (NA2I) Florida Power Corporation Crystal River Energy Complex 15760 W Power Line Street Crystal River, Florida 34428-6708

Senior Resident Inspector Crystal River Unit 3 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 6745 N. Tallahassee Road Crystal River, Florida 34428

Mr. Gary Boldt Vice President - Nuclear Production (SA2C) Florida Power Corporation Crystal River Energy Complex 15760 W Power Line Street Crystal River, Florida 34428-6708 Memorandum Dated: March 22, 1994

Distribution Docket File NRC & Local PDRs PDII-2 RF S. Varga G. Lainas H. Berkow E. Tana L. Raghavan OGC ACRS (10) J. Wermiel I. Ahmed M. Sinkule, RII