MRC PUBLIC DOCUMENT SOM



## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

December 1, 1978

Alan S. Rosenthal, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Michael C. Farrar, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal
Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. John Buck Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of
Virginia Electric and Power Company
(North Anna Nuclear Power Station, Units 1 and 2)
Docket Nos. 50-338 OL and 50-339 OL

Gentlemen:

By letter dated November 14, 1978 to the Appeal Board, I indicated that the Staff expected completion by the end of November of its safety evaluation of the proposed technical specification change for the North Anna Unit 1 Operating License regarding the allowable limits for settlement of the service water pumphouse. The Staff was completing its review of the proposed change yesterday when it received the attached letter from C. M. Stallings of VEPCO dated November 22, 1978. In the letter, Mr. Stallings indicates that certain survey points and base values related to the required surveillance of differential settlement at the site may not be as the Staff assumed in its evaluation. Accordingly, the Staff has determined that it must defer completing its safety evaluation of the proposed technical specification change until it has had an opportunity to determine whether the information included in the referenced letter has any bearing on its analysis. The Staff will inform the Appeal Board of the projected completion date of its evaluation as soon as it can ascertain the extent of delay caused by the recent development.

Daniel F. Lware

Daniel T. Swanson Counsel for NRC Staff

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See page 2

cc w/enclosure:

Dr. Paul W. Purdom Mr. R. B. Briggs Michael W. Maupin, Esq. Richard Foster, Esq. John J. Runzer, Esq. Dr. Kenneth A. McCollom Anthony Gambardella, Esq. Mrs. June Allen Mrs. Margaret Dietrich Mr. Dean P. Agee William H. Rodgers, Jr., Esq. Mr. James M. Torson Mr. Bradford Whitman Mr. James C. Arnold Mr. William Warren Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel Docketing and Service Section