

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

September 16, 1983

MEMORANDUM FOR: R. F. Fraley, Executive Director Advisory Committee on Reactor Sa

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards Nunzio J. Palladino MM

FROM:

SUBJECT:

REAPPOINTMENT OF ACRS MEMBERS

The Commission has decided that ACRS members appointed in the future shall be appointed to no more than three consecutive terms.

To implement this policy with regard to current members of the Committee, the Commission has approved the following implementation plan:

- -- Current ACRS members who are in their first term shall be limited to a maximum of three consecutive terms.
- -- Current ACRS members who are in their second or third terms shall be limited to a maximum of four consecutive terms.

-- Current ACRS members who have already served more than three consecutive terms shall be limited to a maximum of one more consecutive term upon expiration of their current term.

In setting these limits, the Commission does not intend to create a presumption that reappointment within them will become the normal course. Rather, the Commission will continue, as it has in the past, to treat pending vacancies on the ACRS on case-by-case basis.

cc: Commissioner Gilinsky Commissioner Roberts Commissioner Asselstine Commissioner Bernthal SECY OGC OPE OIA EDO

9311180226 930524 PDR FOIA CARROLL93-267 PDR