Ann Williams-Dawe, Esq. Office of the Regional Counsel Environmental Protection Agency, Region I John F. Kennedy Federal Building Boston, Massachusetts 02203

DISTRIBUTION: R. Lessy

R. Perlis

D. Repka

D. Goddard E. Reis

Cunningham/Murray Christenbury/Scinto

OELD Formal File (2) Chron File (2)

NRC Docket File: PDR/LPDR

F. Miraglia (110)

L. Wheeler (128) M. Solberg (AR 5200)

Public Service Company of New Hampshire, et al. (Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2) Docket No. 50-443 OL & 50-444 OL

In the Matter of

Dear Ms. Williams-Dawe:

One of the proposed contentions for litigation in the above-captioned proceeding pertains to the substitution by the Public Service Company of New Hampshire, et al. of chlorination for back-flushing to control fouling in the intake tunnel of the proposed condenser cooling system at the Seabrook nuclear power plants. As you know, a preliminary draft permit from Region I of the Environmental Protection Agency with regard to this has been published as Appendix H to the Draft Environmental Statement (NUREG-0895) recently issued by the NRC Staff.

Accordingly, it would be heipful if you could advise the undersigned by June 11, 1982, of the status of the matter at E.P.A. as well as a brief description of what may reasonably be expected to transpire before the above permit could be issued.

If there are any questions pertaining to this request, you may contact the undersigned at (301) 492-7992. Your cooperation is very much appreciated.

Sincerely, yours,

Roy P. Lessy, Deputy Assistant Chief Hearing Counsel

cc: Service list (See page 2)

82060103056			DESIGNATED OF THE STATE OF SON				
DATE :05/29/82	:05/26/82		:	:	:		
NAME :R. Dessy/1s	:E.Reis):					
OFC :OELD	:OELD) :		:			

Helen Hoyt, Esq. cc: Dr. Oscar H. Paris Lynn Chong Bill Corkum Gary McCool E. Tupper Kinder, Esq. Dr. Emmeth A. Luebke Paula Gold Stephen M. Leonard Jo Ann Shotwell Nicholas J. Costello Beverly Hollingworth Robert A. Backus, Esq. Ms. Patti Jacobson Docketing and Service Section Wilfred L. Sanders, Esq. Thomas G. Dignan, Jr., Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel Robert L. Chiesa, Esq. William S. Jordan, III, Esq. Ellyn R. Weiss, Esq. Phillip Ahrens, Esq. Donald L. Herzberger, MD Edward J. McDermott, Eso. Sen. Robert L. Preston Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel