SOUTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC & GAS COMPANY

POST OFFICE BOX 764

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29218

T. C. NICHOLS, JR.
VICE PRESIDENT AND GROUP EXECUTIVE
NUCLEAR OPERATIONS

May 5, 1982

Mr. Harold R. Denton, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Subject: Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station

Docket No. 50/395

Technical Specifications

Dear Mr. Denton:

Enclosed in my March 22, 1982, letter to you concerning Technical Specifications was a proposed Specification 3.6.1.6, "Containment Structural Integrity." Mr. N. D. Romney of the NRC reviewed this submittal and made several comments. On April 23, 1982, Mr. Shealy of SCE&G Company and Mr. Fulton of Gilbert Associates, Inc. held a conference phone call with Mr. Romney to resolve his comments.

As a result, enclosed is a revision to the above proposed Specification 3.6.1.6. The revision consists of the addition of three new paragraphs identified by vertical lines in the righthand margin and the deletion of the last paragraph under Surveillance 4.6.1.4.1c pertaining to the $\pm 1.3\%$ requirement and the footnote to Table 4.6-1a.

The requirements of Surveillance 4.6.1.6.1.b are not in Regulatory Guide 1.35 but are based on the proposed Subsection IWX of Section XI of the ASME Code prepared by the Working Group on Concrete Pressure Components. For information pages 16 and 17 of this document are enclosed as Attachment I.

Although not changed in this submittal the lower limits found in Table 4.6-la/4.6-lb may require additional revision. After the development of the first tendon surveillance evaluation (performed February - April, 1982) we will provide you with any changes in the lower limits we feel are appropriate and the justification for these changes.

Please contact Mr. Shealy if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,

fm 1. C. NICIK

Attachment cc: See Page 2

LDS:TCN, jr: lkb

1/1

8205130053 820505 PDR ADDCK 05000395 PDR Mr. Harold Denton May 5, 1982 Page 2

cc: V. C. Summer

G. H. Fischer

H. N. Cyrus

T. C. Nichols, Jr.

M. B. Whitaker, Jr.

J. P. O'Reilly

H. T. Babb

D. A. Nauman

C. L. Ligon (NSRC)

W. A. Williams, Jr.

R. B. Clary

O. S. Bradham

L. D. Shealy

A. R. Koon

M. N. Browne

G. J. Braddick

J. L. Skolds

J. B. Knotts

B. A. Bursey

M. J. Virgilio

N. D. Romney

J. R. Cookinham

W. F. Kane

NPCF

File

(w/o attach.)

(w/o attach.)

(w/o attach.)