UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

BEFORE THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING APPEAL BOARD

In the Matter of)

METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY)

(Three Mile Island Nuclear)
Station, Unit No. 1)

Docket No. 50-2

(Restart)

UNION OF CONCERNED SCIENTISTS" EXCEPTION TO MEMORANDUM AND ORDER DENYING MOTIONS TO REOPEN RECORD

On April 26, 1982, the Licensing Board issued a Memorandum and Order Denying Motions to Reopen Record.

The Union of Concerned Scientists hereby takes the following exception, which is numbered in sequence with the previously-filed UCS exceptions:

121. The Board erred in failing to reopen the record pursuant to the Union of Concerned Scientists' "Motion to Reopen the Record..." of September 10, 1981.

Respectfully submitted,

Ellyn R. Weiss

Counsel for Union of Concerned Scientists

HARMON & WEISS

1725 I Street, N.W. Suite 506 Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 833-9070

8205110215 820506 PDR ADOCK 05000287 G PDR

Dated: May 6, 1982

D503

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

BEFORE THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING APPEAL BOARD

In the Matter of)
METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY	Docket No. 50-289
(Three Mile Island Nuclear Station, Unit No. 1)	(Restart)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 6th day of May, 1982, a copy of the Union of Concerned Scientists' Exception to Memorandum and Order Denying Motions to Reopen Record was mailed first class postage pre-paid to the following:

Ivan W. Smith, Chairman
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Walter H. Jordan Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel 881 West Outer Drive Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

Dr. Linda W. Little
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
5000 Hermitage Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27612

Professor Gary L. Milhollin 1815 Jefferson Street Madison, Wisconsin 53711

Judge Gary J. Edles, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Judge John H. Buck
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board Panel
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission
Washington D.C. 20555

Judge Christine N. Kohl
Atomic Safety and Licensing
AppealBoard Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Thomas Roberts, Commissioner U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20535

Nunzio.Palladino, Chairman U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mrs. Marjorie Aamodt R.D. #5 Coalsville, Pennsylvania 19320 Robert Adler, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
505 Executive House
P.O. Box 2357
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Louis Bradford Three Mile Island Alert 325 Peffer Street Harrisburg, PA 17102

Walter W. Cohen, Esq. Office of Consumer Advocate 1425 Strawberry Square Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17127

Jordan D. Cunningham, Esq. Fox, Farr & Cunningham 2320 North Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Thomas J. Germaine, Esq. Deputy Attorney General Division of Law - Room 316 1100 Raymond Boulevard Newark, New Jersey 07102

Dr. Judith H. Johnsrud
Dr. Chauncey Kepford
Environmental Coalition on
Nuclear Power
433 Orlando Avenue
State College, PA 16801

Judge Reginald L. Gotchy
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

John A. Levin, Esq.
Assistant Counsel
Pennsylvania Public Utility
Commission
P.O. Box 3265
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

John Ahearne, Commissioner U.S. NRC Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Steve Brooks
Public Information and
Resource Center
1037 Maclay Street
Harrisburg, PA 17103

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, PA 19149

Ms. Gail B. Phelps 245 West Philadelphia Street York, Pennsylvania 17404

Mr. Robert Q. Pollard 609 Montipelier Street Baltimore, Maryland 21218

Counsel for NRC Staff
Office of Executive Legal
Director
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

George F. Trowbridge, Esq. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

Docketing and Service Section Office of the Secretary U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Eric Van Loon Union of Concerned Scientists 1384 Massachusetts Avenue Cambridge, MA 02238

Victor Gilinsky, Commissioner U.S. NRC Washington, D.C. 20555

Victor Gilinsky, Commissioner U.S. NRC Washington, D.C. 20555

Peter Bradford, Commissioner U.S. NRC Washington, D.C. 20555

Ellyn R. Weiss