## SOUTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC & GAS COMPANY

POST OFFICE BOX 764

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29218

T. C. NICHOLS, JR.
VICE PRESIDENT AND GROUP EXECUTIVE
NUCLEAR OPERATIONS

March 31, 1982

Mr. Harold R. Denton, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Subject: Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station

Docket No. 50/395

Technical Specifications

Dear Mr. Denton:

Attached are miscellaneous changes to the Proof and Review Copy of the Technical Specifications for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station.

The following is a brief explanation of the reasons for the requested changes:

PAGE	EXPLANATION
3/4 1-18	CHANNEL FUNCTIONAL TEST is no longer defined in Section 1.0 and therefore should be changed to ANALOG CHANNEL OPERATIONAL TEST.
3/4 3-29 thru 3/4 3-4	The response times of the Engineered Safety Features in Table 3.3-5 were reviewed. As a result, several changes were made to carify or correct the response times. Notes 4 and were added to the Table Notation to describe the time delays for those Engineering Safety Features Systems that are not associated with the operation of the charging or RHR pumps. Also, the clarification that the response times are based on undervoltage was added.
3/4 3-51 and 3/4 3-52	Tables 3.3-8 and 4.3-5 have been revised to reflect the actual meteorological instrumentation at the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station.
3/4 6-7	The Surveillance Requirements for this Specification have been revised to provide a larger number of locations for measuring containment air temperature. The arithmetical average of these temperatures will better represent the containment average air temperature.

8204060008 820331 PDR ADDCK 05000395 A PDR

Bool

Mr. Harold R. Denton March 31, 1982 Page Two

Please contact Mr. Shealy if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,

for T. C. Nichols, Jr.

LDS:TON, jr:jr

Attachments

ccs: Messrs. V. C. Summer (w/o attach.)

G. H. Fischer (w/o attach.)

H. N. Cyrus (w/o attach.)

T. C. Nichols, Jr.

H. T. Babb

W. A. Williams, Jr.

M. B. Whitaker, Jr.

D. A. Nauman

O. S. Bradham

L. D. Shealy

R. B. Clary

W. R. Baehr

M. N. Browne

A. R. Koon

G. J. Braddick

J. L. Skolds

J. B. Knotts, Jr.

B. A. Bursey

M. J. Virgilio

C. L. Ligon (NSRC)

J. C. Ruoff

J. P. O'Reilly

J. R. Cookinham

W. F. Kane

NPCF

File