Mailing Address

abama Power Company 600 North 18th Street Post Office Box 2641 Birmingham, Alabama 35291 Telephone 205 783-6081

F. L. Clayton, Jr. Senior Vice President Flinthdge Building





Docket No. 50-348

Director of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention: Mr. S. A. Varga

Gentlemen:

MATERIAL PROPERIE TARY CONTAINS RANGMITTED ART 2. 1900 INFORMATION Joseph M. Farley Nuclear Plant - Unit 1 Application For Withholding Proprietary Information From Public Disclosure

On September 10, 1981 Alabama Power Company submitted to the NRC its J. M. Farley Unit 1 Startup Report. This submittal contained information proprietary to Westinghouse. Enclosure 1 is the Westinghouse affidavit setting forth the basis on which the information may be withheld from public disclosure by the Commission and addresses, with specificity, the considerations listed in paragraph (b) (4) of Section 2.790 of the Commission's regulations. Enclosure 2 is the non-proprietary version of Appendix A to the September 10, 1981 letter. Enclosure 3 is the proprietary version of Appendix A to the September 10, 1981 letter.

Accordingly, it is respectfully requested that the information which is proprietary to Westinghouse be withheld from public disclosure in accordance with 10CFR Section 2.790 of the Commission's regulations. Correspondence with respect to the proprietary aspects of this application for withholding or the supporting Westinghouse affidavit should reference CAW-82-11 (Enclosure 1) and should be addressed to R. A. Wiesemann, Manager, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs, Westinghouse Electric Corporation, P. O. Box 355, Pittsburgh, PA 15230.

If you have any questions, please advise.

Yours very truly,

L. Clayton, Jr.

auton

FLCJr/JAR:1sh Enclosures cc: See page 2

PDR

203220358 820315 PDR ADOCK 05000348

IE26 51/1

Non Prop Only Charge:

Mr. S. A. Varga March 15, 1982 Page 2

cc: Mr. R. A. Thomas Mr. G. F. Trowbridge Mr. J. P. O'Reilly Mr. E. A. Reeves Mr. W. H. Bradford Mr. E. C. Shomaker Mr. R. A. Wiesemann