## ECKERT, SEAMANS, CHERIN & MELLOTT

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

FORTY-SECOND FLOOR

600 GRANT STREET

PITTSBURGH, PA. 15219 (412) 566-6000

TELEX-866172

TELECOPIER-(412) 566-6099

COUNSEL WILLIAM H. ECKERT

MILTON W. LAMPROPLOS LEON E. HICKMAN

WILLIAM WATSON SMITH 1671-1964

MICHAEL R. BORASKY TIMOTHY W. SILBAUGH DENNIS J. LEWIS WILLIAM H. SCHORLING JAMES H. ROBERTS K. DOYLE GEORGE JOHN T. SCHMIDT RICHARD I. HALPERN JOHN J. MYERS JOHN C. ARTZ ANDREW M. ROKAN ROBERT L. BYER JOHN PAUL LEWIS, JR. JOHN PAUL LEWIS, JR.
JANICE C. BOWERS
DENNIS J. O'BRIEN JONATHAN M. HERGERT MARGARET P. JOY GEORGE M. MEDVED JORDAN S. WELTMAN STUART A. WILLIAMS

CAROL F. GRAEDNER FRED W. GEORGE GEORGE E. YOKITIS FREDERICK B. KRUGER CLIFFORD A. PASTEL ELLEN MERCER SCHINDLER CARLA H. GREENFIELD WILLIAM E. KELLEHER, JR. WILLIAM E. KELLEHER, ANN M. STRICKLAND LINDA J. MCCLELLAN RICHARD S. WIEDMAN LOUIS L. GALVIS MARK C. COULSON KEVIN SRODE JAMES M. GOCKLEY RICHARD F. RINALDO RICHARD K. DANDREA JOHN J. FORD JOHN J. FORD FREDERICK J. CASPAR SARA A. MERCER DIANE I. LOOSBROCK

MAR -9 All :31 March 5, 1982

Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esq., Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

DALE HERSHEY
ROBERT W. DOTY
J. GARY KOSINSKI
JOHN R. KENRICK
ROBERT B. WILLIAMS
WILLIS A. SIEGFRIED, JR.
DAVID E. TUNGATE
RICHARD W. GLADSTONE, II
G. RICHARD GOLD
RAY C. STONER
J. W. MONTGOMERY, III
WILLIAM R. NUERNBERG
PETER C. BAGGERMAN
MARK A. WILLARD

MARK A. WILLARD JOHN W. UBINGER, JR. D. RICHARD FUNK

HOWARD D. SCHWARTZ ROBERT L. ALLMAN, II STEVEN W. MCGRATH BRYAN D. ROSENBERGER

FRANK L. SEAMANS CARL CHERIN CLOYD R. MELLOTT W. GREGG KERR RODERICK G. NORRIS

JOHN H. MORGAN
JOHN H. MORGAN
CARL F. BARGER
EDWARD J. GREENE
DONALD C. WINSON
ROBERT C. M'CARTNEY
WILLIAM B. MALLIN

WILLIAM B. MALLIN
BARTON Z. COWAN
EDWIN L. KLETT
THOMAS D. WRIGHT
C. ARTHUR WILSON, JR.
C. KENT MAY
EDWARD G. O'CONNOR
ALFRED W. VADNAIS
WM. ALVAH STEWART, III
DALF E. WILLIAMS

DALE E. WILLIAMS

Dr. David R. Schink Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Department of Oceanography Texas A & M University College Station, Texas 77840

Dr. George A. Ferguson Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board School of Engineering Howard University 2300 5th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20059

Dear Administrative Judges:

In the Matter of Offshore Power Systems (Floating Nuclear Power Plants) Docket No. STN 50-437

In the Application for Manufacturing License, page 1, the Applicant, Offshore Power Systems, is described as "an unincorporated joint venture of Westinghouse Electric Corporation, a Pennsylvania corporation, and its whollyowned subsidiary, Westinghouse International Power Systems



Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esq., Chairman Dr. David R. Schink Dr. George A. Ferguson Atomic Safety and Licensing Board March 5, 1982

-2-

Company, Inc., a Delaware corporation." We wish to advise the Board that on February 1, 1982, Westinghouse Electric Corporation ("Westinghouse") announced that Offshore Power Systems became a division of the Water Reactor Divisions of Westinghouse.

Although the unincorporated joint venture, Offshore Power Systems, will remain in existence and will retain ownership of the manufacturing facility, all personnel of Offshore Power Systems, as of March 1, 1982, became personnel of the Offshore Power Systems Division of the Water Reactor Divisions of Westinghouse. Mr. A. R. Collier remains as President of Offshore Power Systems Division and will report directly to Mr. James S. Moore, Vice President and General Manager, Water Reactor Divisions. Other personnel identified in the application remain unchanged.

The change in reporting does not impact the licensing process for the floating nuclear power plants and Offshore Power Systems remains the applicant under STN 50-437. The quality assurance program for activities under the Manufacturing License Application, as described in Volume 8, Chapter 17, of the Plant Design Report remains in effect.

Very truly yours,

Barton Z. Cowan

BZC:BB

cc: Service List

## ATTACHMENT 1

## OPS SERVICE LIST

Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esq., Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. David R. Schink Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Department of Oceanography Texas A & M University College Station, Texas 77840

Dr. George A. Ferguson Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board School of Engineering Howard University 2300 5th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20059

Dr. David L. Hetrick Administrative Judge Professor of Nuclear Engineering The University of Arizona Tucson, Arizona 85721

Alan S. Rosenthal, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Alternate Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Chief Hearing Counsel Office of the Executive Legal Director Atlantic County Citizens Council on U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Docketing & Service Section Office of the Secretary U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Director Division of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Richard Black, Esq. Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Barton Z. Cowan, Esq. John R. Kenrick, Esq. Eckert, Seamans, Cherin & Mellott 42nd Floor, 600 Grant Street Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Thomas M. Daugherty, Esq. Offshore Power Systems 8000 Arlington Expressway P. O. Box 8000 Jacksonville, Florida 32211

Carl Valore, Jr., Esq. Valore, McAllister, DeBrier, Aron & Westmoreland P. O. Box 175 Northfield, New Jersey 08225

S. Jacob Scherr, Esq. Natural Resources Defense Council 1725 : Street, N.W., Suite 600 Washington, D.C. 20006

Sandra Ayres, Esq. Assistant Deputy Public Advocate State of New Jersey P. O. Box 141 Trenton, New Jersey 08601

Mr. George B. Ward Nuclear Power Plant Committee City Hall Brigantine, New Jersey 08203

Dr. Willard W. Rosenberg Environment 8 North Rumson Avenue Margate, New Jersey 08402

Mr. John H. Williamson Atlantic County Citizens Council on Environment 211 Forest Drive Linwood, New Jersey 08221