May 11, 1983

Helen Hoyt, Esq., Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Emmeth A. Luebke
Administrative Judge
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Jerry Harbour Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, et al.
(Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2)
Docket Nos. 50-443 OL and 50-444 OL

Dear Administrative Judges:

Transmitted herewith is Supplement No. 1 to the Seabrook Safety Evaluation Report ("SER"), NUREG-0896. This supplement addresses two outstanding issues from the SER published on March 7, 1983. Those issues are onsite emergency preparedness and secondary water chemistry. Copies of SER Supplement No. 1 are being sent to the service list under separate cover.

Secondly, the Staff is hereby transmitting to the Board and parties a corrected replacement page to the "Joint Affidavit of Chu-yu Liang, William T. LeFave, and S. Stanley Kirslis" filed on April 20, 1983. The conclusions of the Staff in its April 20, 1983 affidavit are unchanged.

The attached "Affidavit of William T. LeFave" details the corrections that have been made in the replacement page, and explains why these corrections do not alter the basis for the Staff's original conclusions. As Mr. LeFave notes in paragraphs 3 and 4, one category of valve operators involved will be environmentally qualified by Applicants, thus mooting the issue of whether they have to be qualified, and the other valve operator involved no longer

exists in the updated Seabrook design, similarly mooting this issue. These corrections are being made pursuant to the obligation of the parties, including the Staff, to inform Boards of new developments.

Sincerely,

Roy P. Lessy Deputy Assistant Chief Hearing Counsel

William F. Patterson, Jr. Counsel for NRC Staff

Attachment: As Stated

(w/attachment) Edward F. Meany Sandra Gavutis Jo Ann Shotwell Nicholas J. Costello Robert A. Backus, Esq. Brian P. Cassidy Thomas G. Dignan, Jr., Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel Jane Doughty William S. Jordan, III, Esq. Phillip Ahrens, Esq. Sen. Robert L. Preston Letty Hett Ruthanne G. Miller, Esq. Mr. Robert J. Harrison

DISTRIBUTION
Lessy/Perlis/Patterson/McDonald
Reis/Christenbury/Murray
NRC Docket File: PDR/LPDR
OELD FF (2)/Chron (2)
Lieberman/Olmstead
G.Knighton 128/L.Wheeler 128
J.Sears EW359

Roberta C. Pevear Edward L. Cross, Jr., Esq. Beverly Hollingworth Docketing and Service Section Letty Hett Dr. Mauray Tye Anne Verge, Chairperson Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel David R. Lewis Ellyn R. Weiss, Esq. Donald L. Herzberger, MD John B. Tanzer Patrick J. McKeon Calvin A. Canney, City Manager George Dana Bisbee, Esq.

J.Sears EW359

OFC :OELD :OELD :OELD :

NAME :WPatterson/dkw :RLessv :EReis ::

DATE :05/ | /83 :05/ | /83 :05/ | /83 ::