

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555

IN RESPONSE, PLEASE REFER TO: M810616B

)R COP

June 22, 1981

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

> MEMORANDUM FOR: William J. Dircks, Executive Director for Overations

> > Samuel J. Chilk, Secretary

FROM:

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - DISCUSSION OF ANTICIPATED TRANSIENTS WITHOUT SCRAM (SECY-80-409, PROPOSED RULEMAKING TO AMEND 10 CFR PART 50 CONCERNING ATWS EVENTS), 2:10 P.M., TUESDAY, JUNE 16, 1981, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, D.C. OFFICE (OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)

Chairman Hendrie and Mr. F. Rowsome presented an alternative proposal to the rule submitted by the NRC staff in SECY-80-409, and amended in memoranda from W. J. Dircks to the Commission dated November 7, 1980 and January 29, 1981. The Commission, by a vote of 4-0, decided that both proposed rules should be published for public comment.

The Commission directed the staff to:

- a. Prepare a Federal Register Notice containing both rules.
- Expand the Statement of Consideration as necessary to encompass both proposals.
- c. Exclude the modifications to SECY-80-409 suggested by then Chairman Ahearne in his December 10, 1980 memorandum that were included in the staff's January 29, 1981 submittal to the Commission.
- d. Revise the environmental impact assessment to reflect the addition of the alternate proposal.
- e. Note in the FRN that a petition for rulemaking on ATWS had previously been received from Electric Utilities on September 16, 1980, had been published in the Federal Register, and that the public comments received on the petition would be considered during the evaluation of the present rulemaking.

## William J. Dircks

The OGC was requested to review both alternatives to ensure that dose calculations under Part 100 are excluded for ATWS. (A February 27, 1981 memorandum from W. J. Dircks to the Commissioners addressed the exclusion for the staff's alternative to the proposed rule.)

The Commission authorized the OGC/EDO to publish the rule when satisfied that the Commission direction has been followed.

cc: Chairman Hendrie Commissioner Gilinsky Commissioner Bradford Commissioner Ahearne Commission Staff Offices Public Document Room