.Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Edward A. Brown President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Brown:

SUBJECT: REVIEW OF 60-DAY RESPONSE TO GENERIC LETTER 88-2, INDIVIDUAL PLANT EXAMINATIONS (IPE) (TAC NO. 68959)

On March 17, 1988, the NRC staff issued Generic Letter 88-05, "Boric Acid Corrosion of Carbon Steel Reactor Boundary Components in PWR Plants". In this letter we requested that you provide assurances that a program has been implemented at your plant that addresses the corrosive effects of reactor coolant system leakage at less than technical specification limits. The generic letter identified four considerations which your program should include.

In a letter dated May 27, 1988, you responded to Generic Letter ES-05, describing your commitment to a boric acid leakage monitoring and preventive program at your plant. We find that you have provided assurance that a program is in place dealing with boric acid leakage that potentially could affect the integrity of the reactor coolant pressure boundary. This fulfills your requirement in responding to Generic Letter 88-05.

As discussed in Generic Letter 88-05, you should maintain, in auditable form, records of the program and results obtained from implementation of the program. These records may be subject to future auditing.

This completes our effort under TAC NO. 68959.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Victor Nerses, Project Manager Project Directorate 1-3 Division of Reactor Projects 1/11 Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: Docket File, NRC&Local PDRs, VNerses, EJordan, SVarga, BBoger, ACRS(10), JJohnson, Rgn.1, MRushbrook, RWessman

| OFC | :PDI-3/LA | : PD1 - 3 (PM | :PD1-3/01 | | | 1 | |
|------|--|---------------|-----------|--|---|-----|------|
| NAME | MRushbrook | Wherses:mw | :RWessman | | | | |
| DATE | :1 1,5/90 | :1 125/90 | :1 15/90 | | i | - 1 | : |
| | OFFICIAL RECORD COPY Document Name: SEABROOK GL 8805 T68959 | | | | | | Pfol |
| AN S | 9002070264 900125 PDR ADOCK 05000443 | | | | | | , 10 |

FDC

Mr. Edward A. Brown

cc: Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01830

Robert Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esc. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Philip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. T. Feigenbaum Public Service Company of of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Seabrook Nuclear Power Station Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

- 2 -

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Public Service Company of New Hampshire Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

> Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire P. O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. Town Counsel for Merrimac 145 Main Street, P.O.Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Alfred V. Sargent. Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack 531 Hart Senate Office Building U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Mr. John Traficonte Chief, Nuclear Safety Unit Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Flace Boston, Massachusetts 02108-1698

.thr. Edward A. Brown

...

cc: Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Suzanne Breiseth, Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Poad Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chairman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill - Whilton Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & McGuire 79 State Street Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Ms. R. Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

Mr. John C. Duffett President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire 1000 Elm St., P. O. Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. Jack Dolan Federal Emergency Management Agency Region I J. W. McCormack Post Office and Courthouse Building, Room 442 Boston, Massachusetts 02109

- 3 -