Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Edward A. Brown President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Brown:

SUBJECT: INSERVICE TEST PROGRAM (IST) REVISION 1, CHANGES

By letter dated October 30, 1989, you submitted proposed changes to the Seabrook inservice testing (IST) program including a one-time relief request for eight recently repaired safety injection (SI) check valves. The original IST program was reviewed and approved by the staff in the Seabrook SSER No.6 dated October 1986. The staff has reviewed the IST program changes which are primarily a result of system modifications to the Residual Heat Removal (RHR) and Containment Building Spray (CBS) systems.

In accordance with the enclosed Safety Evaluation, the staff finds per 10 CFR 50.55a(g)(6)(i) that the one-time partial relief from the post-maintenance test of the ASME Code Section XI, IWV-3200, as requested by your December 27, 1989, letter is acceptable and therefore granted.

Sincerely,

Original signed by:

Victor Nerses, Project Manager Project Directorate I-3 Division of Reactor Projects 1/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: As stated				
cc w/enclosure See next page	900112003 PDR ADOC P	6 900103 K 05000443 PDC	OFOI	
DISTRIBUTION: MRushbrook, E.	Docket File, PDI-3 Pordan, ACRS(10), J	/rf, NRC&Local Johnson,Rgn.1	PDRs, VNerses, SVar	ga, BBoger,
FC :PDI-3/LA :PDA-		Ne dectac	5 100	
AME :MRUShorogk . VNer	ses :RWessman	: L. Chandles		
ATE :12/29/89 17 /2	9/89 Nr 129/89	ils.		
OFFICIAL RECO	PD COPY			

Document Name: SEAB.LTR.IST REVISION 1, CHANG

Mr. Edward A. Brown

cc: Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01830

Robert Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer and Sclomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Philip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Seaccast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. T. Feigenbaum Public Service Company of of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Seabrook Nuclear Power Station Post Office Box 149 Seabrook, New Hamoshire 03874 Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire P. O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. Town Counsel for Merrimac 376 Main Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 08130

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack 531 Hart Senate Office Building U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampsnire 03824

Mr. Edward A. Brown

cc. Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Suzanne Breiseth, Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Mr. Guy chichester, Chairman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill - Whilton Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & McGuire 79 State Street Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Ms Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 Morth Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

Mr. John C. Duffett President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire 1000 Elm St., P. O. Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. Jack Dolan Federal Emergency Management Agency Region I J. W. McCormack Post Office and Courthouse Building, Room 442 Boston, Massachusetts 02109