

For:

The Commissioners

From:

William J. Dircks

Executive Director for Operations

Subject:

APPROVAL UNDER SECTION 145 b. OF THE ATOMIC ENERGY ACT OF 1954, AS AMENDED, TO GRANT ACCESS TO RESTRICTED DATA AND OTHER NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC) CLASSIFIED INFORMATION TO DESIGNATED MEMBERS OF CONGRESS (NO INVESTIGATION TO BE

CONDUCTED)

Issue:

Grant to all members of Congress having subcommittee assignments with NRC oversight responsibilities "Q" access authorization to enable them to have access to NRC Restricted Data and other NRC classified information.

Discussion:

The enclosed list reflects congressional subcommittee assignments with NRC oversight responsibilities for the 97th Congress. Members of these subcommittees may have a need for NRC Restricted Data and other NRC classified information in conjunction with their subcommittee assignments. Those members of Congress identified on the list by an asterisk following their name will have their NRC "Q" access authorizations previously granted by the Commission continued.

This action involves no new resource requirements.

CONTACT: R. J. Brady, SEC

42-74472

The Commissioners

Recommendation: The Commission:

- 1. Determine pursuant to Section 145 b. of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, that permitting the members of Congress identified on the enclosed list access to NRC Restricted Data and other NRC classified information, as necessary, is clearly consistent with the national interest.
- Based on the above determination, grant members of Congress assigned to congressional subcommittees having over ight responsibilities for the NRC (listed on the enclosure) an NRC "Q" access authorization.

Coordination:

This has been concurred in by the Offices of Administration and Congressional Affairs. The Executive Legal Director has no legal objection.

William J. Dircks

Executive Director for Operations

Enclosure: List of Congressional Subcommittees and Members

Commissioners' comments or consent should be provided directly to the Office of the Secretary by c.o.b. Wednesday, May 20, 1981.

Commission Staff Office comments, if any, should be submitted to the Commissioners NLT May 13, 1981, with an information copy to the Office of the Secretary. If the paper is of such a nature that it requires additional time for analytical review and comment, the Commissioners and the Secretariat should be apprised of when comments may be expected.

This paper is tentatively scheduled for affirmation at an open meeting during the week of May 26, 1981. Please refer to the approprite weekly Commission Schedule, when published, for a specific date and time.

DISTRIBUTION
Commissioners
Commission Staff Offices
Exec Dir for Operations
Secretariat
ACRS
ASLBP

The following subcommittees having oversight responsibilities for the Nuclear Regulatory Commission have now been established:

SENATE

Subcommittee on Nuclear Regulation Committee on Environment and Public Works

Alan Simpson, Chairman	I	Gary Hart, Ranking Minority	
Howard Baker	(TN)*	George Mitchell	(ME)
Pete Domenici	(NM)*	Max Baucus	(MT)
Steven D. Symms	(ID)*		

Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations

Mark Hatfield, Chairman	(OR)	Bennett Johnston, Ranking Minority	(LA)
James McClure	(ID)	John Stennis	(MS)
Jake Garn	(UT)	Ernest Hollings	(SC)
Harrison Schmitt	(NM)	Robert Byrd	(WV)
Thad Cochran	(MS)	Walter Huddleston	(KY)
James Abnor	(SD)	Quentin Burdick	(ND)
Robert Kasten	(WI)	James Sasser	(TN)
Mack Mattingly	(GA)		

Subcommittee on Energy, Nuclear Proliferation, and Government Services Committee on Governmental Affairs

Charles Percy, Chairman	(IL)	John Glenn, Ranking Minority	(OH)
David Durenberger	(MN)	Henry Jackson	(WA)
William Cohen	(ME'	Carl Levin	(MI)
Mack Mattingly	(GA		

Subcommittee on Arms Control, Oceans, International Operations, and Environment Committee on Foreign Relations

Larry Pressler, Chairman	(SD)	Alan Cranston, Ranking Minority	(CA)
Charles Percy	(IL)	Edward Zorinsky	(NE)
Howard Baker	(TN)		

^{*}previously granted NRC access authorization

HOUSE

Subcommittee on Energy and the Environment Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs

Morris Udall, Chairman Jonathan Bingham John Seiberling James Weaver Philip Sharp Edward Markey Baltasar Corrada Austin Murphy Nick Joe Rahall Bruce Vento Jerry Huckaby	(AZ)* (NY)* (OH) (OR)* (IN)* (MA)* (PR)* (PA)* (WV)* (MN)*	Manual Lujan, Ranking Minority Dan Marriott Richard Cheney Douglas Bereuter Jon Hinson Dave Martin Mick Staton Denny Smith	(NM)* (UT) (WY) (NE)* (MS) (NY) (WV) (OR)
	*		

Subcommittee on Energy Conservation and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce

Richard Ottinger, Chairman Toby Moffett Edward Markey Albert Gore Allen Swift Phil Gramm Mickey Leland Richard Shelby Michael Synar Ron Wyden Ralph Hall Doug Walgren Cardiss Collins John Dingell, ex officio	(NY) (CT)* (MA)* (TN)* (WA) (TX) (TX) (AL) (OK) (OR) (TX) (PA)* (IL) (MI)*	Carlos Moorhead, Ranking Minority Matthew Rinaldo James Collins Tom Corcoran Robert Whittaker Thomas Tauke Donald Ritter Harold Rogers Cleve Benedict James Broyhill, ex officio	(CA) (NJ)* (TX)* (IL) (KS) (IA) (PA) (KY) (WV) (NC)
--	---	--	--

^{*}previously granted NRC access authorization

Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations

Tom Bevill, Chairman	(AL)	John Myers, Ranking Minority	(IN)
Edward Boland	(MA)	Clair Burgener	(CA)
Lindy Boggs	(LA)	Virginia Smith	(NE)
Bill Chappell	(FL)	Eldon Rudd	(AZ)
Vic Fazio	(CA)		
Wes Watkins	(OK)		
Adam Benjamin	(IN)		

Subcommittee on Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources Committee on Government Operations

Toby Moffett, Chairman	(CT)*	Joel Deckard, Ranking Minority (I	(N)
Floyd Fithian	(IN)	John Hiler (I	(N)
Mike Synar	(OK)*	David Dreier (0	(A)
Tom Lantos	(CA)	Judd Gregg (N	(H)
Eugene Atkinson	(PA)		
Barney Frank	(MA)		

Subcommittee on International Security and Scientific Affairs Committee on Foreign Affairs

L. H. Fountain (NC) I Dante Fascell (FL)	William Broomfield, Ranking Minority (MI Larry Winn (KS John LeBot Lillier (NY Edward Derwinski (IL
---	--

^{*}previously granted NRC access authorization

of the help of the first of the Document Control Desk TRANSMITTAL 016 Phillips The Public Document ADVANCED COPY TO: June 2, 1981 DATE: Attached are the PDR copies of a Commission meeting transcript/s/ and related meeting document/s/. They are being forwarded for entry on the Daily Accession List and placement in the Public Document Room. No other distribution is requested or required. Existing DCS identification numbers are listed on the individual documents wherever possible. Transcript of: Affirmation Session 81-20, 1. May 28, 1981. SECY-81-291 - Policy Issue Paper dated May 5, 1981, Subj: Approval Under Section 145 b. of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, to Grant Access to Restricted Data and Other Nuclear Regulator Commission (NRC) Classified Information to Designated Members of Congress (No Investigation to be Conducted) . 41410