



Tera

Docket No. 50-395

Mr. T. C. Nichols, Jr.
Vice President & Group Executive
Nuclear Operations
South Carolina Electric & Gas Company
Post Office Box 764
Columbia, South Carolina 29218

Dear Mr. Nichols:

Subject: Issuance of Supplement No. 2 to the Safety Evaluation Report -

Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station, Unit 1

Twenty (20) copies of Supplement No. 2 to the Safety Evaluation Report (NUREG-0717 Supplement No. 2) related to the operation of the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station are enclosed for your use.

Concurrent with this letter, a copy of this report is being placed in the Commission's Public Document Room located at 1717 H Street, N. W., Washington, D. C. 20555 and in the local public document room in the Fairfield County Library, Garden and Washington Streets, Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180.

Sincerely,

B. J / Youngblood, Chief Licensing Branch No. 1

Division of Licensing

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See next page

Mr. T. C. Nichols, Jr.
Vice President & Group Executive
Nuclear Operations
South Carolina Electric & Gas Company
P. O. Box 764
Columbia, South Carolina 29218

cc: Mr. Henry Cyrus
Senior Vice President
South Carolina Public Service Authority
223 North Live Oak Drive
Moncks Corner, South Carolina 29461

J. B. Knotts, Jr., Esq. Debevoise & Liberman 1200 17th Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.
Group Manager - Nuclear Engineering & Licensing
South Carolina Electric & Gas Company
P. O. Box 764
Columbia, South Carolina 29218

Mr. Brett Allen Bursey Route 1, Box 93C Little Mountain, South Carolina 29076

Resident Inspector/Summer NPS c/o U. S. NRC Route 1, Box 64 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Dr. John Ruoff Post Office Box 96 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065 Dr. Lamar Priester, Jr., Deputy Commissioner for Environmental Health and Safety South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Attorney General Box 11549 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

State Clearinghouse Office of the Governor Division of Administration 1205 Pendleton Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Chairman, Fairfield County Council P. O. Box 293 Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180