

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

MAY 2 6 1981

Docket Nos.: STN 50-482

and STN 50-483

APPLICANTS: Kansas Gas and Electric Company

Union Electric Company

FACILITIES: Wolf Creek Generating Station, Unit No. 1

Callaway Plant, Unit No. 1

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF MEETING HELD ON MAY 13, 1981 WITH WOLF CREEK

AND CALLAWAY APPLICANTS FOR SNUPPS AUXILIARY SYSTEMS REVIEW

A meeting was held on May 13, 1981 at the Bechtel Office in Gaithersburg, Maryland with representatives of the Kansas Gas and Electric Company, Union Electric Company, SNUPPS Organization and Bechtel Power Corporation. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss matters related to the SNUPPS auxiliary systems design of the Wolf Creek and Callaway Plants. The list of attendees is attached as Enclosure 1. The significant points discussed are summarized below:

1. Spent Fuel Pool Cooling (FSAR Section 9.1.3)

No remaining questions were identified and this review area is considered complete.

- Spent Fuel Storage (FSAR Section 9.1.2)
 - a) Basis for 0.05 margin (K<0.95) uncertainties in burnup analysis and K_{c1+} calculations. NRC has the action to clarify its need for information and any position.
 - b) Spent Fuel Pool Liner Seismic Qualification Applicants were requested (and agreed) to revise the FSAR to discuss the seismic integrity of the liner.
- Fuel Handling (FSAR Section 9.1.4)
 - a) The applicants were advised that a response is required to Generic Letters dated December 22, 1980 and February 3, 1981, respectively, related to NUREG-0612 (accidental drop of heavy loads).
 - b) The applicants were requested to identify and analyze any load (other than a spent fuel assembly) which might be accidentally dropped over the spent fuel and which might have greater kinetic energy than a spent fuel assembly (for example, a lighter load dropped from a greater height than a spent fuel assembly. The applicants agreed to address this question in their response to the generic letters on heavy loads (see item 3a above).

4. Functional Design of Reactivity Control System (FSAR Section 4.6)

No remaining questions were identified and this review area is considered complete.

5. New Fuel Storage (FSAR Section 9.1.1)

No remaining questions were identified and this review area is considered complete.

6. Flood Protection (FSAR Section 3.4.1)

NRC requested correction of a minor printing error in FSAR Section 3.4.1.1.2. No other remaining questions were identified and the review area is considered complete. Internal flood design criteria will be reviewed in the meeting now scheduled to review pipe breaks and analyses on June 9, 1981.

7. Missile Generation/Protection (FSAR Sections 3.5.1, 3.5.1.4, 3.5.2)

No remaining questions were identified and this review area is considered complete.

It was agreed that the meeting scheduled for May 27, 1981 is no longer necessary since some of the scheduled topics were covered in this meeting and the remainder will be covered in the meeting scheduled for June 9, 1981 on pipe break criteria.

A. W. Dromerick, Project Manager
Licensing Branch No. 1

G. E. Edison, Project Manager
Lice ing Branch No. 1

Lice ing Branch No. 1 Division of Licensing

& E Edine

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See next page

Division of Licensing

Mr. J. K. Bryan Vice President - Nuclear Union Electric Company P. O. Box 149 St. Louis, Missouri 63166

cc: Gerald Charnoff, Esq. Shaw, Pittman, Potts, Trowbridge & Madden 1800 M Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

> Kansas City Power & Light Company ATTN: Mr. D. T. McPhee Vice President - Production 1330 Baltimore Avenue Kansas City, Missouri 64101

Mr. Nicholas A. Petrick Executive Director, SNUPPS 5 Choke Cherry Road Rockville, Maryland 20850

Mr. J. E. Birk Assistant to the General Counsel Union Electric Company St. Louis, Missouri 63166

Kansans for Sensible Energy P. O. Box 3192 Wichita, Kansas 67201

Francis Blaufuse Westphalia, Kansas 66093

Mr. Tom Vandel Resident Inspector/Wolf Creek NPS c/o USNRC P. O. Box 1407 Emporia, Kansas 66801

Mr. Michael C. Keener
Wolf Creek Project Director
State Corporation Commission
State of Kansas
Fourth Floor, State Office Building
Topeka, Kansas 66612

Mr. Glenn L. Koester Vice President - Nuclear Kansas Gas and Electric Company 201 North Market Street P. O. Box 208 Wichita, Kansas 67201

Dr. Vern Starks Route 1, Box 863 Ketchikan, Alaska 99901

Mr. William Hansen
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Resident Inspectors Office
RR #1
Steedman, Missouri 65077

Ms. Treva Hearn, Assistant General Counsel Missouri Public Service Commission P. O. Box 360 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jay Silberg, Esquire Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

Mr. D. F. Schnell Manager - Nuclear Engineering Union Electric Company P. O. Box 149 St. Louis, Missouri 63166

Ms. Mary Ellen Salava Route 1, Box 56 Burlington, Kansas 66839

Mr. L. F. Drb1 Missouri - Kansas Section American Nuclear Society 15114 Navaho Olathe, Kansas 66062

Ms. Wanda Christy 515 N. 1st Street Burlington, Kansas 66839

Floyd Mathews, Esq. Birch, Horton, Bittner & Monroe 1140 Connecticut Avenue, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

List of Attendees

Meeting May 13, 1981

Wolf Creek and Callaway Plants

NRC Staff

Gordon Edison
Bernard Mann
Nich Fioravante
Edmund Sullivan, Jr.
John Ridgely
Walter L. Brooks
William T. LeFave

Westinghouse

W. L. Luce E. M. Burns

Missouri Public Service Comm.

Ronald M. Fluegge

Union Electric

Carl A. Brauer Alan C. Passwater

ANL

Robert Jaross

Kansas Gas & Electric

Nels Hoadley Oakley Korbelik Bob Hagan Gene Rathbun

SNUPPS Staff

Frank Schwoerer R. L. Stright

Bechtel Staff

Patrick A. Ward J. D. Hurd P. Nastick R. Mahla E. U. Thomas G. D. Brown J. S. Prebula J. C. Olenik C. Fonner

Yankee Atomic

Robert White

TETTING SUMMARY DISTRIBUTION

Docket File HRC PDR Local PDR TIC/NSIC/Tera N. Hughes

LB#1 Reading H. Denton

E. Case

D. Eisenhut

R. Purple

B. J. Youngblood

A. Schwencer F. Miraglia

J. Miller

G. Lainas

R. Vollmer

. P. Knight R. Bosnak F. Schauer

R. E. Jackson

Project Manager G. Edison/A. Dromerick

Attorney, OELD M. Rushbrook

OIE (3) ACRS (16) R. Tedesco

NRC Participants:

G. Edison

. B. Mann

N. Fioravante

E. Sullivan, Jr.

J. Ridgely W. Brooks

W. LeFave

G. _ear W. Johnston

S. Pawlicki V. Benaroya

Z. Rosztoczy

W. Haass

D. Muller R. Ballard

W. Regan

D. Ross P. Check

Chief, Power Systems Branch

0. Parr F. Rosa W. Butler

W. Kreger R. Houston

Chief, Radiological Assessment Branch

U. S. NUCLEAT REQUEATORY

COMMISSION

L. Rubenstein

T. Speis

M. Srinivasan

J. Stolz

S. Hanauer

W. Gammill

T, Murley

F. Schroeder

D. Skovholt

M. Ernst

R. Baer

C. Berlinger

K. Kniel

G. Knighton

A. Thadani

D. Tondi

J. Kramer

D. Vassallo

P. Collins D. Ziemann

bcc: Applicant & Service List