

Business and Professional People for the Public Interest

109 North Dearborn Street, Suite 1300 . Chicago, Illinois 60602 . Telephone: (312) 641-5570

COCKET NUMBER PR-50

April 13, 1981

= = = :

Mr. Samuel J. Chilk Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington D.C. 20555

Attention: Docketing and Service Branch

Re: Proposed Amendments to 10 CFR §50.34

Dear Secretary Chilk:

This letter is in response to your invitation to comment on the proposed amendment to 10 CFR §50.34 as set forth in the attachment to your March 18, 1981 letter.

While we agree that the proposed amendment appears to be one which would add needed safety-related requirements to the Commission's regulations, we submit that the new rule, if enacted, should be made applicable to present holders of construction permits, as well as to applicants for construction permits and manufacturing licenses. To decline to so apply the amendment, especially to plants which are in the very early stages of construction, suggests that the Commission is not seriously attempting to implement the needed upgrading of safety for all nuclear plants.

We would appreciate your furnishing us with copies of all documents pertaining to this rulemaking proceeding and notify us of all developments and proceedings in connection with it.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert B. Lifton

Donald Danis Alan Saks Dora Williams Vice Presidents

Richard P. Kiphart reasurer

Sylvia Scheinfeld Secretary

81050705

James W. Ashley John C. Bachmar Cacil C. Butler Stave Fifter Leon D. Finney Staunton O. Flanders Herbert B. Fried Bernard Gordon

Ronald Grzywinski Martin Hausman Florence Heitler Peter Hunt E. Laverne Jones Amoid B. Kanter Joseph Keilman Elliot Lanman Katherine Lambert Michael D. Maitz John L. McKnight Elena B. Mulcany Waiter A. Netsch

Eugene Pekow Alexander Polikoff Rudolph S. Rasin Jeremy Warburg Russo James A. Shapiro Dick Simpage Dick Singer Bill Singer Dick Simpson Robert J. Vollen Lois Weisberg Morton Weisman Richard Wolff

Staff Alexander Polikoff

Executive Director Robert J. Voilen General Counsel Douglass W. Cassel, Jr. Mary Galloway James Sizabeth L. Lassar Jane M. Whicher Francine G. Rissman Howard A. Learner Attorneys

Pon Stevens Attorney, The Housing Agenda Dianne L. Sautter Director of Development M. Selma Wise Community Development Director Nancy Stone

APR 1 6 1981

Past Presidents Gordon B. Sherman Elliot Lanman