

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

February 25, 1981

Docket No. 50-409 LS05-81-02-059

> Mr. Frank Linder General Manager Diaryland Power Cooperative 2615 East Avenue South LaCrosse, Wisconsin 54601

Dear Mr. Linder:

The Commission has issued the enclosed Amendment No. 24 to Provisional Operating License No. DPR-45 for the LaCrosse Boiling Water Reactor (LACBWR). This amendment is in response to your request dated February 18, 1981, as supported by your submittals dated October 14 and 26, 1980, and February 2, 1981, and is related to our evaluations of liquefaction potential at the LaCrosse site.

The amendment adds new requirements to the LACBWR Technical Specifications to specify limiting conditions for operation and surveillance requirements for the (1) Emergency Service Water Supply System, and (2) Primary Coolant System Pressure Isolation Valves.

Copies of our related Safety Evaluation and the Notice of Issuance are also enclosed.

Sincerely,

Dennis M. Crutchfield, Mief Operating Reactors Branch #5

Division of Licensing

Enclosures:

 Amendment No. 24 to License No. DPR-45

Safety Evaluation
 Notice of Issuance

cc w/enclosures: See next page cc w/enclosures: Fritz Schubert, Esquire Staff Attorney Dairyland Power Cooperative 2615 East Avenue South La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601

O. S. Heistand, Jr., Esquire Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1800 M Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

Mr. R. E. Shimshak La Crosse Boiling Water Reactor Dairyland Power Cooperative P. O. Box 135 Genoa, Wisconsin 54632

Dr. John H. Buck Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

La Crosse Public Library 800 Main Street La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office Rural Route #1, Box 225 Genoa, Wisconsin 54632

Town Chairman Town of Genoa Route 1 Genoa, Wisconsin 54632

Chairman, Public Service Commission of Wisconsin Hill Farms State Office Building Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Alan S. Rosenthal, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Mr. Frederick Milton Olsen, III 609 North 11th Street LaCrosse, Wisconsin Director, Standards and Criteria
Division
Office of Radiation Programs
(ANR-460)
U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency
Washington, D. C. 20460

U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency
Federal Activities Branch
Region V Office
ATTN: EIS COORDINATOR
230 South Dearborn Street
Chicago, Illinois 60604

Charles Bechhoefer, Esq., Inairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. George C. Anderson Department of Oceanography University of Washington Seattle, Washington 98195

Mr. Ralph S. Decker Route 4, Box 1900 Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Thomas S. Moore Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Ms. Anne K. Morse Coulee Region Energy Coalition Post Office Box 1583 LaCrosse, Wisconsin 54601

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office Rural Route #1, Box 225 Genoa, Wisconsin 54632