

1.14

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

JAN 9 1981

Docket Nos: 50-413 50-414

Mr. Jesse L. Riley, President Carolina Environmental Study Group 854 Henley Place Charlotte, North Carolina 28207

Dear Mr. Riley:

This letter is written in response to your petition of January 28, 1979, requesting, among other things, that the Commission reopen the licensing proceeding for Duke Power Company's Catawba Nuclear Station. In a letter to you dated March 7, 1979, you were informed that your request was being treated as a request under 10 CFR §2.206 of the Commission's regulations.

I have considered the matters raised in your January 28, 1979 petition in accordance with 10 CFR §2.206 of the Commission's regulations. For the reasons set forth in the enclosed "Director's Decision Under 10 CFR §2.206," your requests are hereby denied.

A copy of this determination will be placed in the Commission's Public Document Room at 1717 H Street, NW, Washington, DC 20555, and at the York County Library, 325 South Oak Avenue, Rock Hill, South Carolina. A copy will also be filed with the Secretary of the Commission for its review in accordance with 10 CFR §2.206(c) of the Commission's regulations.

Sincerely,

Harde Cat

Harold R. Denton, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosures: 1. Director's Decision

2. Summary Statement

6

8101290011



Mr. William O. Parker Vice President - Steam Production Duke Power Company P. O. Box 33189 Charlotte, North Carolina 28242

cc: William L. Porter, Esq. Duke Power Company P. O. Box 33189 Charlotte, North Carolina 28242

> J. Michael McGarry, III, Esq. Debevoise & Liberman 1200 Seventeenth Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20036

> North Carolina MPA-1 Suite 208 222 North Person Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27601

Mr. R. S. Howard Power Systems Division Westinghouse Electric Corporation P. O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Mr. C. W. Woods NUS Corporation 2536 Countryside Boulevard Clearwater, Florida 33515

Mr. Jesse L. Riley, President Carolina Environmental Study Group 854 Henley Place Charlotte, North Carolina 28208

Richard P. Wilson, Esq. Assistant Attorney General S. C. Attorney General's Office P. O. Box 11549 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Walton J. McLeod, Jr., Esq. General Counsel South Carolina State Board of Health J. Marion Sims Building 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Mr. William O. Parker

cc: James W. Burch, Director Nuclear Advisory Counsel 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201 Chairman North Carolina Utilities Commission 430 North Salisbury Street Dobbs Building Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. George Maxwell, Resident Inspector P. O. Box 11695 Rock Hill, South Carolina 29730

- 2 -

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

State Clearninghouse Office of the Governor Division of Administration 1205 Pendleton Street 4th Floor Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dr. Lamar Priester, Jr. Deputy Commissioner for Environmental Health and Safety South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Attorney General P. U. Box 11549 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Attorney General Department of Justice Justice Building Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Office of Intergovernmental Relations 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20426

Chairman South Carolina Public Service Commission P. O. Box 11649 Columbia, South Carolina 02903

c/o U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission U. S. Environmental Protection Agency ATTN: EIS Coordinator Region IV Office 345 Courtland Street, N.E. Atlanta, Georgia 30308