

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

DEC 1 1 1980

MEMORANDUM FOR: Those on Attached List

FROM:

Herbert N. Berkow, Chief Management Analysis Branch

Planning & Program Analysis Staff

SUBJECT:

ATWS FOIA - FOIA 80-587 -- REQUEST FROM ANTHONY EARLEY FOR

51 CATEGORIES OF DOCUMENTS RE: ATWS

An FOIA request for documents that support 51 specific references in NUREG-0460, SECY-80-409 and its enclosures (including the enclosures dealing with value-impact and Browns Ferry 3) has been filed. A copy is enclosed for your information. Rather than search the files and extract only those documents that are relevant to the 51 references, all of the documents in your files that are relevant to ATWS should be made available to the requester, with some exceptions. The exceptions are proprietary documents; however, a list of the proprietary documents is required. Also indicate if there is a nonproprietary version. Other documents you believe should not be released need not be provided, but a list of these with the reason for withholding the documents (e.g., pre-decisional) should be provided. Since the requester already has NUREG-0460, SECY-80-409, NUREG/CR-0400 (the Lewis Report) and SECY-80-504 (Iodine Release During Reactor Accidents), these need not be supplied.

Therefore, you are requested to collect all ATWS . Plated documents in your files and send them or a list, if they are propretary or if they are being withheld for other reasons, to Valeria Wilson, P-433, by December 15, 1980 (if the quantity is large, call Valeria on Ext. 28972 to arrange for pickup). The documents should be identified with your name and organization, room number, etc. so they can be returned to you.

> Herbert N. Berkow, Chief Maragement Analysis Branch

12 aning & Program Analysis Staff

Enclosure: FOIA 80-587

DISTRIBUTION

Frank Akstulewicz

Frank Cherney

Darrel Nash

Krysztof Parchzewski Joe Youngblood

Howard Richings

Lawrence Ruth

M. Srinivasan

Tsung Su

Michael Tokar

Harold Vandermolen

Dominic Tondi

Faust Rosa

John Olshinski

Scot Newberry

Brian Grimes

Elinor Adensam

Leo Beltracc',

Ed Throm

Themis Speis

Mark Rubin

Warren Minners

Ashok Thadani