

DOCKETS

USNIRC

DET 2.0 :980

NHSS

MATE SECTION

DOCKET CLERK

40-1341 DOCKEt

TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE 37401

400 Chestnut Street Tower II

October 7, 1980



Mr. Ross A. Scarano U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Uranium Recovery Licensing Branch Mail Stop SS 483 7914 Eastern Avenue Silver Spring, Maryland 20910

Docket No. 40-1341

Dear Mr. Scarano:

I am enclosing an affidavit certifying that on September 22, 1980, copies of the following correspondence relating to TVA's Edgemont Uranium Mill Decommissioning Plan Environmental Report (ER) were served upon the individuals identified in the attachment in accordance with the requirements of 10 CFR Parts 2 and 51:

- 1. ER Revision 5 (with letter from L. M. Mills to Ross A. Scarano dated September 19, 1980).
- 2. ER Supplement 1, Page 1-15, Question: Section 4.6.1.1.1, page 4.6-1; response concerning the distribution of the principal plant communities of the project area.
- 3. ER Supplement 1, page 2-6 to 2-9, Question: Section 4.2, page 4.2-14; rewrite of question response and revision to the corresponding Section 5.1.2, page 5.1-2.

in Equal Control Billion

Very truly yours,

TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

L. M. Mills, Manager Nuclear Regulation and Safety



Enclosure

8011050175

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF TENNESSEE)) SS. COUNTY OF HAMILTON)

Docket No. 40-1341

I, Larry M. Mills, Manager, Nuclear Regulation and Safety, Tennessee Valley Authority, 400 Chestnut Street Tower II, Chattanooga, Tennessee, do hereby certify that on September 22, 1980, I served by depositing in the U.S. Mail, all charges prepaid, copies of the following correspondence relating to TVA's Edgemont Uranium Mill Decommissioning Plan Environmental Report (ER) to the individuals identified in the attachment to this affidavit:

- ER Revision 5 (with letter from L. M. Mills to Ross A. Scarano dated September 19, 1980).
- ER Supplement 1, page 1-15, Question: Section 4.6.1.1.1, page 4.6-1; response concerning the distribution of the principal plant communities of the project area.
- 3. ER Supplement 1, page 2-6 to 2-9, Question: Section 4.2, page 4.2-14; rewrite of question response and revision to the corresponding Section 5.1.2, page 5.1-2.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this <u>20</u> day of October 1980. Notary Public <u>Autotta A. Marte</u> My Commission Expires <u>5-84</u>

Attachment

13.4

DISTRIBUTION FOR ER'S FOR FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL OFFICES -SOUTH DAKOTA

DOT REGIONAL OFFICE

....

Secretarial Representative (1) U.S. Department of Transportation Prudential Plaza, Suite 1822 1050 17th Street Denver, Colorado 80202

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

Director, Technical Assessment (1) Division (AW-459) Office of Radiation Programs U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Crystal Mall #2 Arlington, Virginia 20460

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (5) ATTN: Regional Radiation Representatives Office of Radiation Programs 1860 Lincoln Street Denver, Colorado 80203

ADVISORY COUNCIL ON HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Mr. Robert Garvey, Exec. Director (1) Advisory Council on Historic Preservation 1522 K Street, N.W. Suite 536 Washington, DC 20005

cc: w/encl.

Director, Office of Cultural Preservation Department of Education and Cultural Affairs State Capitol Pierre, South Dakota 57501

LOCAL OFFICIALS

Fall River County Commission (1) Hot Springs, South Dakota 57747 Edgemont City Council (1) P.O. Box AA Edgemont, South Dakota 57735

Mr. John Krueger Edgemont City Planner Edgemont, South Dakota 57735

Black Hills Energy Coalition (1) ATTN: Chairman John Sanderford 4316 Brookside Rapid City, South Dakota 57701

Sixth Planning and Development (1) District ATTN: Mr. Brian Shorten 1823 St. Joe Rapid City, South Dakota 57709

Black Hills Alliance (1) ATTN: Bruce Ellison P.O.Box 2508 Rapid City, South Dakota 57701

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT, REGIONAL OFFICE

Regional Administrator (1) Department of Housing & Urban Affairs 1405 Curtis Street Denver, Colorado 80202

cc: (Transmittal Letter only) Mr. Richard H. Brown, Director Office of Environmental Quality U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 451 7th Street, S.W.. Room 7274 Washington, DC 20410

ARMY ENGINEERING DISTRICT

U.S. Army Engineering District (4) 6014 USPO & Courthouse 215 North 17th Street Omaha, Nebraska 68102

RIVER BASIN COMMISSION

Missouri River Basin Commission (1) Suite 403 10050 Regency Circle Omaha, Nebraska 68114

STATE OFFICIALS

Attorney General (1) State Capital Pierre, South Dakota 57501

South Dakota State Clearinghouse (15) State Planning Bureau State Capitol Pierre, South Dakota 57501

For info only (1)

Librarian - Thermal Reactors Safety Group Building 130 - Brookhaven National Laboratory Upton, Long Island, N.Y. 11973

Atomic Industrial Forum, Inc. ATTN: Ms. Liz Hannon 1016 16th Street, N.W. Suite 850 Washington, DC 20036

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND WELFARE

Mr. Charles Custard, Director (2)
Office of Environmental Affairs
U.S. Department of Health, Education,
 and Welfare Room 524 F2
200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, DC 20201

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Dr. Sidney R. Galler (6)
Deputy Assistant Secretary for
Environmental Affairs
U.S. Department of Commerce
14th & Constitution, N.W. Room 3425
Washington, DC 20230

Mr. Robert Ochinero, Director (1) National Oceanographic Data Center Environmental Data Service - D7 Page Building No. 1, Room 428 2001 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20235

DEPARTMENT OF INTERIOR (18)

Mr. Bruce Blanchard, Director Office of Environmental Projects U.S. Department of the Interior 18th & C Streets, N.W. Room 4256 Washington, DC 20240

cc: (transmittal letter only)
Chief, Division of Ecological
Services
Bureau of Sport Fisheries and
Wildlife
U.S. Dept. of the Interior
18th & C Streets, N.W.
Washington, DC 20240

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Dr. Jack Heinemenn (1) Advisor on Environmental Quality Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Room 3000 S-22 825 North Capitol Street, N.E. Washington, DC 20426

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

1

Mr. Joseph Canny (letter only) Office of Environmental Affairs U.S. Department of Transportation 400 7th Street, S.W. Room 9422 Washington, DC 20590

- cc: Mr. Lee Santman, Director (1)
 Materials Transportation Bureau
 U.S. Department of Transportation
 ATTN: Mr. Joe Nalevankon
 2100 Second Street, S.W.
 Washington, DC 20590
- Mr. Mark Gottlieb (1) Office of Radiation Programs U.S. Environmental Protection Agency ANR-459 Washington, DC 20460
- * Pollution Control Center (1) Attention: Mr. Steve Gadler

2120 Carter Avenue St. Paul, Minnesota 55108

* Added by TVA at NRC's request.