

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

December 11, 1980



Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Route 3. Box 350A U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. E. Leonard Cheatum Watkinsville, Georgia 30677

Mr. Gustave A. Linenberger Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of Houston Lighting & Power Company (Allens Creek Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1) Docket No. 50-466

Gentlemen:

A question arose at the prehearing conference as to whether portions of the underlying basis of Doherty Contention 26 were accidently omitted in the Staff's redraft of the contentions set forth as an attachment to the Staff's letter of July 18, 1980. (See Tr. 1893, 1912). The contention should be worded as follows to reflect all of the original bases of redrafted Doherty Contention 26:

Stud bolt Doherty 26

There is insufficient assurance that each stud bolt in the reactor head meets adequate minimum standards for yield strength during Anticipated Transient Without SCRAM conditions.

The Safety Analysis for the proposed ACNGS is inadequate because:

- a. there is insufficient assurance that each stud bolt in the reactor head meets adequate minimum standards for yield strength during anticipated transient without scram conditions.
- b. the magnitude of the maximum primary tensile component has been inadequately considered, and

c. the magnitude of stress on each stud has been inadequately considered, as has the storing of strain energy in the reactor head flange and how it provides the mach nical means by which all stud boots will fail if a first one fails.

Richard J. Black

Richard L. Black Counsel for NRC Staff

cc: J. Gregory Copeland, Esq. Jack Newman, Esq. Carro Hinderstein Susan Plettman, Esq. David Preister, Esq. Brenda A. McCorkle Hon. Jerry Sliva Hon. John R. Mikeska Mr. John F. Doherty Mr. F. H. Potthoff, III D. Marrack Texas Public Interest Research Group, Inc. Mr. Wayne Rentfro Rosemary N. Lemmer Leotis Johnston Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Docketing and Service Section
Mr. Win iam J. Schuessler
The Honorable Ron Waters
Margaret Bishop
Stephen A. Doggett, Esq.
Bryan L. Baker
Robin Griffith
Elinore P. Cummings
Mr. William Perrenod
Carolina Conn
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Region IV