Mr. Roger P. Whitfield, Associate Director Office of Environmental Restoration EM-40 U.S. Department of Energy Washington, DC 20545

JAN 1 6 1991

Dear Mr. Whitfield:

I am writing to inform you of a reorganization of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Division of Low-Level Waste Management and Decommissioning (LLWD) as it affects the NRC/DOE interactions on the Uranium Mill Tailings Remedial Action (UMTRA) Project.

Effective on December 31, 1990, LLWD consists of three branches: the Low-Level Waste Management Branch, the Decommissioning and Regulatory Issues Branch, and the Uranium Recovery Branch (See Enclosure). The Uranium Recovery Branch, headed by John Surmeier, is the group under which all UMTRA Project activities fall. All correspondence directed to NRC Headquarters regarding the UMTRA Project and general uranium recovery issues should henceforth be addressed to:

Mr. John Surmeier, Chief
Uranium Recovery Branch
Division of Low-Level Waste Management
and Decommissioning
Office of Nuclear Materials Safety
and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop 5-E-2
Washington, DC 20555

The division of UMTRA Project sites between LLWD and our Uranium Recovery Field Office (L'RFO) in Denver, Colorado remains the same. Any correspondence related to the Monument Valley, Mexican Hat, Tuba City, Durango, Ambrosia Lake, and Lakeview sites should continue to be addressed to URFO (cc to LLWD); correspondence on all other sites should be addressed to LLWD.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me (FTS 492-3340) or John Surmeier (FTS 492-3439).

Richard L. Bangart, Dreet BANGAPT
Division of Low-Level Waste Management
and Decommissioning, NMSS

Enclosure: LLWD Staff Listing

cc: See attached list LLUR r/f DGillen Distribution: Central File# WM-39 NMSS r/f RBangart JGreeves PLohaus JAustin JSurmeier BBeach, RIV RHall, RIV/URFO Category: Proprietary or CF Only NO PDR YES X NO ACNW YES INFORM DOE OF REORGANIZATION AFFECTING UMTRA PROJECT SUBJECT ABSTRAC (\*SEE PREVIOUS CONCURRENCE) INTERACTIONS :LLWM :LLWM OFC :LLUR :LLUR :\*JGreeves :RBangart \* :\*JSurmeier NAME: \*Gillen/eb :1/09/91 :1 /16/91 :1/07/91 DATE: 1/04/91

9102010071 910116 PDR WASTE CF

DG/REORG

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. Roger P. Whitfield, Associate Director Office of Environmental Restoration EM-40 U.S. Department of Energy Washington, DC 20545

WAN 16 1991

Dear Mr. Whitfield:

DG/REORG

I am writing to inform you of a reorganization of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Division of Low-Level Waste Management and Decommissioning (LLWD) as it affects the NRC/DOE interactions on the Uranium Mill Tailings Remedial Action (UMTRA) Project.

Effective on December 31, 1990, LLWD consists of three branches: the Low-Level Waste Management Branch, the Decommissioning and Regulatory Issues Branch, and the Uranium Recovery Branch. The Uranium Recovery Branch, headed by John Surmeier, is the group under which all UMTRA Project activities fall. All correspondence directed to NRC Headquarters regarding the UMTRA Project and general uranium recovery issues should henceforth be addressed to:

Mr. John Surmeier, Chief
Uranium Recovery Branch
Division of Low-Level Waste Management
and Decommissioning
Office of Nuclear Materials Safety
and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop 5-E-2
Washington, DC 20555

The division of UMTRA Project sites between LLWD and our Uranium Recovery Field Office (URFO) in Denver, Colorado remains the same. Any correspondence related to the Monument Valley, Mexican Hat, Tuba City, Durango, Ambrosia Lake, and Lakeview sites should continue to be addressed to URFO (cc to LLWD); correspondence on all other sites should be addressed to LLWD.

Should you have any quest or a regarding this matter, please contact me (FTS 492-3340) or John Surveier (FTS 492-3439).

Richard L. Bangart, Director Division of Low-Level Waste Management and Decommissioning, NMSS

	and Decommissioning, NMSS								
cc: See attached 1	ist /								
Distribution: Cent JSurmeier JAus RHall,RIV/URFO	tin /	PLohaus		LLUR r/f RBangart	DGillen				
PDR YES ACNW YES SUBJECT ABSTRACT:	NO T	OF REORG		ary or CF					
OFC :LLUR	:LLUR A	P : L.KIV	in in	:LLWMP.a					
NAME: DGillen/eb	:JSurmeier	:Jer	reeves	:RBangart					
DATE: 1/4/91	: 1/7/9.	: \/	९ /91	: 51/16/91					

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

cc: Ralph Lightner, DOE HQ
Lovice Brazley, DOE HQ
Mark Matthews, DOE Alb
Mike Abrams, DOE Alb
Pat Martinek, Colorado
Cheryl Koshuta, Idaho
Martin Begaye, Navajo Nation
Eloy Montoya, New Mexico
Terry Lindsey, North Dakota
David Yaden, Oregon
Richard Blanton, Arizona
James Yusko, Pennsylvania
David Lacker, Texas
Larry Anderson, Utah
John Erickson, Wyoming
Dianne Lucero, Hopi Tribe
Alan Richardson, EPA

## DIVISION OF LOW-LEVEL WASTE MANAGEMENT AND DECOMMISSIONING STAFF LISTING JANUARY 1990 MAIL STOP 5-E-2

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR	(LLWM)	(51-40)	DECOMMISSIONING AND RE BRANCH (LLDR) (51-43)		ISSUES	
BANGART, Richard L. GREEVES, John T. Schultz, Eileen D.	23344 23342	5E-1 5E-3 5E-4	AUSTIN, John Villarreal, Cecilia Bell, Larry Bykoski, Lou Glann, Chad Mariert, Tony Marin, Timothy C. Marin, Dan Orlando, Nick Parrott, Jack Pittiglio, Larry **Thaggard, Mark *Thomas, Jim Young, Yvonne	20529 20558 20554 20569 20557 20566 20565 23438 20568 20815	5C-10 5F-19	
URANIUM RECOVERY BRANCH (LLUR) (51-42			LOW-LEVEL WASTE MANAGEMENT BRANCH (LLWD)			51-41)
Jagannath, Banad Johnson, Terry (Ted) Mullins, Allan	23439 23441 20555 20517 20593 23440 20582	5D-13 5E-7	LOHAUS, Paul H. Jones, Joan Adams, Mary Hogg, Robert C. Kane, Joseph Kennedy, Jim Person, Leroy Ross, Frederick Shaffner, James Shewmaker, Robert Tokar, Michael Westbrook, Kristin Wick, Everett	20505 20579 23449 23401 20575 20527 23450 20596 20590 23444	5E-5 5E-6 5D-14 5A-4 5D-13 5E-11 5F-11 5D-12 5D-15 5C-14 5D-7 5C-13 5D-5	