1.4 Emergency Response Organization

Federal and state agency and utility organizations are described in Volume 1 and Volume 20, Section 1.6. The Town of Kingston is one of 21 local governments that are part of New Hampshire's offsite emergency response organization in the event of an accident at Seabrook Station. Seventeen of the communities, including Kingston, are located within the Plume Exposure Pathway Emergency Planning Zone (EPZ). The four remaining communities are designated host communities to provide Reception Center capabilities should an evacuation of the seventeen EPZ communities be required. Host community functions are described in Volume 20, Section 2.4.2.

The local emergency response organization in the Town of Kingston is governed by a Board of Selectmen which is responsible for the administrative control of the Town. During an emergency at Seabrook Station, the Board of Selectmen would be in direct charge of all emergency operations for the Town. The Selectman have delegated limited authority to the Emergency Management Director for the implementation of emergency plans. The emergency response organization for the Town of Kingston is shown in Figure 1.4-1. The responsibilities assigned to various persons and local agencies involved with emergency response activities in the Town of Kingston are identified in Sections 1.5 and 1.6.

The names and means for contacting the person to whom these duties have been assigned are outlined in the Kingston Emergency Call List. The material in the Emergency Call List provides for lines of succession as well. The lines of succession will be used to provide for 24-hour coverage of the key emergency management functions in Kingston. The Town provides for 24-hour coverage of the following positions:

- o Selectmen: Command and control
- Emergency Management Director: Coordination of emergency management functions.
- Fire Chief: Operation of emergency communications systems and the ECC.