

FEDERAL EXECUTIVE INSTITUTE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

Post Office Box 1001 • Great Falls, Virginia • 22066

June 1989

Chairman Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1717 H Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Chairman:

I am writing to inform you that Timethy J. Bork, a career Foreign Service Officer with the Agency for International Development, was selected for the FEIAA's 1988 Executive of the Year Award. Mr. Bork, who was honored at our annual conference in March, opened a new A.I.D. mission in South Africa, where he mounted a \$25 million program to demonstrate U.S. support for individuals and groups striving to end apartheid. The FEIAA Board found his courage, commitment and effectiveness in this extremely difficult assignment an extraordinary achievement in personal leadership and executive management.

The FEIAA Executive of the Year Award is given annually. One federal and one state or local official may be selected. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding achievements in public service. To be eligible, a nominee must be a career executive or have been a career executive currently serving in federal, state, or local government. Individuals must be nominated by the department or agency where he/she works.

The Federal Executive Institute Alumni Association invites nominations from federal, state and local governments in early fall, and nominations are due November 30. The award is presented in the spring at the association's annual conference, the Executive Forum.

We appreciate your participation in the FEIAA's annual award and look forward to receiving your nomination for the 1989 award. Should you have any questions about the award, please call Emilie Heller, Chair, Awards Committee, at 202-653-7751.

Sincerely, Odele Derly

Adele Derby, President

8912070204 891122 PDR COMMS NRCC CORRESPONDENCE PDC

FEIAA Executive of the Year



AWARD

A Message From The President

The Federal Executive Institute Alumni Association (FEIAA) is requesting nominations for its "Executive-of-the-Year Award" for 1989.

This award is given annually to an outstanding Federal Executive, and an outstanding State or Local Executive selected by the FEIAA Board of Directors. The purpose for giving the Award is to recognize extraordinary achievement in executive management and leadership at federal, state and local government levels. The criteria used to evaluate the nominees are contained in this brochure.

Past federal sinners have been from the Agency for International Development, Department of the Treasury, U.S. Fostal Service, and Department of Health and Human Services. Past state and local winners have been from the Commonwealth of Virginia, Hawaii, Colorado, Kentucky, and Ohio.

To be considered for the 1989 award, nominations must be received by November 30, 1989. Additional nomination procedures are described in this enclosure.

The FEIAA will pay travel and lodging expenses to Washington, D.C. for the awardees and spouses to attend the Awards ceremony, a highlight of the FEIAA's annual conference, the Executive Forum, to be held on March 15 - 16, 1990.

We request your consideration of this invitation, and encourage you to join us in this effort to recognize managerial excellence by nominating your outstanding executive for this prestigious award.

Sincerely.

ADELE DERBY President, FEIAA

Ninth Annual FEIAA Award

THE AWARD

This honorary award is made annually to one or more individuals and recognizes extraordinary achievements in executive management and personal leadership.

The Award is sponsored by the FEDERAL EXECUTIVE INSTITUTE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION (FEIAA) to encourage and recognize excellence in the management of government. The FEIAA is composed of graduates of the Federal Executive Institute, located in Charlottesville, Virginia. The FEI is one of the primary educational institutions for developing executive leaders in the federal, state, and local governments.

AWARD CRITERIA

Executive leadership of an organization which produced substantial, innovative achievements, resulting in high quality public service. Outstanding achievements can include significant improvements in service to the public, program effectiveness, and efficient use of resources due to the efforts and leadership of the nominee.

Extraordinary results of a particularly sensitive and difficult executive assignment of major importance achieved through great personal initiative, commitment, effort, and competence.

NOMINATION PROCESS

Nominations are invited from Heads of federal departments and agencies, Governors, and Chief Executive Officers of local governments.

A nominee for the award must be a career executive or have been a career executive currently serving in federal, state or local government. Individuals must be nominated by someone in a higher authority in the same department or agency.

Finalists will be asked to submit a black and white photograph for publicity purposes. Please do not send photos until you are notified that your nominee is a finalist.

NOMINATION FORMAT

E ach nominator should use the following format:

- Use the form (pg. 4) in this announcement as the cover sheet for your nomination.
- 2. Include a brief biography of the nominee.
- Include a narrative, not to exceed (3) pages, stating the basis for the nomination, in terms of the general criteria stated above.
- Provide the name, title, organization, address, and phone number of three (3) references who can attest to the nominee's executive performance.

Executive of the Year -1989

SEND NOMINATIONS TO

FEIAA Executive of the Year Committee
Post Office Box 1091
Great Falls, Virginia 22066-1001
Attn: Emilie Heller - Chair, Awards Committee

All nominations must be received by November 30, 1989.

Further information may be requested from the Chair, Emilie G.

Heller, at (202) 653-7751. Nominees need not be graduates of the FEI or members of the FEI AA.

SELECTION PANEL

The award recipients will be selected by a panel composed of members of the FEIAA, other representatives in public administration, academia and state or local government.

AWARD PRESENTATION

Awards will be presented in March 1990 at the FEIAA's annual conference, the Executive Forum. The FEIAA will pay travel and lodging expenses for the awardees and their spouses to attend the awards presentation to be held in Washington, D.C.

FORMER FEIAA EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR AWARD RECIPIENTS

FEDERAL:

1988 - Timothy J. Bork
Agency for International Development

1987 - Barbara J. Gagel HCFA, Health and Human Services

1986 - Fred C. Fischer
Agency for International Development

1985 - William R. Barton
Department of the Treasury

1984 - Kenneth H. Fletcher U.S. Postal Service

1983 - Walter L. Dowdle PHS, Health and Human Services

1982 - Stuart Knight
U.S. Secret Service, Treasury

STATE/LOCAL:

1987 - William J. Sykes State of Ohio

1986 - Stuart R. Connock

Commonwealth of Virginia

1985 - William Oku, Jr. Honolulu, Hawaii

1984 - Rubin Valdez State of Colorado

1983 - Dee Maynard State of Kentucky