

School of Public Affairs Office of the Dean

August 1, 1989

Honorable Lando W. Zech, Jr. Chairman Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1717 H Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Chairman:

It gives me great pleasure to invite your nominations for the 1990 Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership.

Now in its thirteenth year, the Jones Award is given annually by the School of Public Affairs of The American University to two federal career executives who have demonstrated superior leadership. The University has created the Jones Award to emphasize the importance of public administration and to note exemplary contributions by career executives to good government. The 1989 recipients are Joseph R. Caraveo, Regional Postmaster General, Western Region, U.S. Postal Service; and Richard A. Clarke, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regional Affairs, Bureau of Intelligence and Research, Department of State. Messrs. Caraveo and Clarke will receive their awards in a special ceremony to be held on the campus of The American University on September 26, 1989.

A public servant of great distinction, Roger W. Jones served in a wide range of federal agencies over many years as a career executive and ultimately as a Presidential appointee in both Republican and Democratic administrations. He exemplified a high standard of effective management leading to organizational accomplishment and the development of administrative skills in the staffs of the agencies which he served. Roger Jones recognized that efficiency in government depends largely upon the quality of the career executives who work with political leadership.

8912070138 891121 PDR COMMS NRCC CORRESPONDENCE PDC

Selection Committee for the Roger W. Jones Award For Executive Leadership

Ray Kline
Chairman of the Committee
President, National Academy
of Public Administration
Sally Greenberg

Former Associate Director, Executive
Personnel and Management Development
U.S. Office of Personnel Management

Dorcas R. Hardy Commissioner of Social Security Constance Horner Under Secretary of Health and Human Services

Chester A. Newland
Editor, Public Administration Review

Elliot L. Richardson
Partner, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy
Former Ambassador and Cabinet Officer

James R. Schlesinger Center for Strategic and International Studies Former Secretary of Defense

Elmer B. Staats Former Comptroller General of the United States

J. Jackson Walter President, National Trust for Historic Preservation The award recognizes career executives whose superior leadership has resulted in (1) outstanding organizational achievement and (2) the development of managers for the career service. Career executives currently holding Presidential appointments are eligible for consideration. Please refer to the enclosed brochure for further information.

Nominations for the Roger W. Jones Award may be made by Presidential and other administration appointees who have immediate responsibility for the career executive nominated. Or, if you prefer to centralize the nominations, they may be made from a single point in the agency. With the increasing number of women and minorities in career executive positions today, the Committee hopes to receive more nominations reflecting this trend.

Distinguished Americans committed to effective government serve on the Selection Committee. Their names appear at the bottom of the first page of this letter. The Committee requests that nominations be presented and justified in accordance with each of the two selection criteria specified in the brochure. Justifications should be limited to five pages, although appropriate exhibits may be appended. Please submit ten copies of any nomination, along with the original, to facilitate distribution to the Committee.

The deadline for submission of nominations is December 1, 1989. Agencies will be notified of those honored for the 1990 Jones Award in mid-April. The awards, a bronze plaque and a citation, will be presented in a ceremony to be held on the campus of The American University in the Fall of 1990.

I look forward to receiving your nominations.

Sincerely,

Cornelius M. Kerwin

Carnelin M. Kerwin

Dean

School of Public Affairs

Enclosure: Brochure