

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

SEP 1 9 1980

Docket No. 50-498/499

REGULATORY DOCKET FILE COP'S

Houston Lighting and Power Company ATTN: Mr. G. W. Oprea, Jr. Executive Vice President P.O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77001

Gentlemen:

Enclosed is the NRC transcript and record from the public meeting which was held on August 19, 1980 in Bay City, Texas related to the South Texas Project. Included with this package are the errata prepared by the NRC and the errata prepared by Houston Lighting and Power Company. The record consists of seven (7) attachments which represent all written material submitted in conjunction with the public meeting.

Information which was presented in slide form by your representatives has been inserted in the body of the transcript as separate pages to facilitate the understanding by the reader. The same material is included in Attachment 1 which constitutes the Houston Lighting and Power Company written submittal.

If there are any questions on this information please contact me.

Sincerely,

Victor Stello, Jr

Director

Office of Inspection and Enforcement

Enclosure: Transcript and Record of Public Meeting, August 19, 1980

DISTRIBUTION

This Transcript and Record are being mailed to the listed individuals or groups who are directly involved with the South Texas Project or have previously expressed an interest in some aspect of the project. The Transcript and Record will also be available in the Public Document Room located at 1717 H Street, N.W., Washington, DC and the Local Public Document Room located at the Matagorda County Court House, Matagorda County Law Library, P.O. Box 487, Bay City, TX 77414.

Jack R. Newman, Esq. Lowenstein, Newman, Reis, Axelrad and Toll 1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

Finis Cowan, Esq. Baker & Botts 3000 One Shell Plaza Houston, TX 77002

City of Bay City, Texas Honorable Ernest J. Opella, Mayor City Hall Bay City, TX 77414

City of Palacios, Texas Honorable Leonard Lamar, Mayor City Hall Palacios, TX

The Honorable Lloyd Bentsen United States Senate 912 Federal Building Austin, TX 78701

The Honorable Robert Dole United States Senate Washington, DC 20501

The Honorable John Tower United States Senate 1100 Commerce Street Dallas, TX 75242 The Honorable Bob Eckhardt United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Henry B. Gonzalez United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable J. J. Pickle United States House of Representatives 242 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable A. R. Schwartz
The Senate of the State of Texas
Austin, TX 78701

Bay City Chamber of Commerce Bay City, TX 77414

Mrs. Peggy Buchorn
Executive Director
Citizens for Equitable Utilities
Route 1, Box 432
Brazoria, TX 77422

Mr. Lanny Alan Sinkin Citizens Concerned about Nuclear Power 838 E. Magnolia San Antonio, TX 78212

Mr. Gale Van Hoy Houston Gulfcoast Buildings & Construction Trades Council 2704 Sutherland Houston, TX 77023 Sierra Club Houston Regional Group Mr. Brandt Mannchen, Chairperson 1822 Richmond #2 Houston, TX 77098

Ms. Irene H. Anderson 8715 Starcrest, #18 San Antonio, TX 78217

Mr. Tom Bertetta 8 Ashton Avenue Millbrae, CA 94030

Miss Rosemarie Gillen 69 Union Avenue Paterson, NJ 07502

Mrs. M. Keen 2602 Encino Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Sims McDonald Box 438 Van Vleck, TX 77482

Mr. Robert Park 4141 Walshwood Court Dayton, OH 45424

Ms. Jeanne Robertson 23 Nueces Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. C. M. Singleton 3933 Heatherglen Bay City, TX 77414 bcc: Chairman Ahearne Commissioner Gilinsky Commissioner Hendrie Commissioner Bradford

EDO ACI AP

ACRS OCA OGC OIA OPE

OPA al Files

PDR

LPDR

H. K. Shapar, ELD J. P. Murray, ELD B. M. Bordenick, ELD

H. R. Denton, NRR

D. E. Sells, NRR W. P. Haass, NRR V. Stello, IE

R. C. DeYoung, IE

H. D. Thornburg, IE J. M. Taylor, IE G. W. Reinmuth, IE

R. E. Shewmaker, IE

K. V. Seyfrit, RIV (20)

REGULATORY DOCKET FILE COPY