

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ATOMIC ENERGY COMMISSION

BEFORE THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

In the Matter of

THE TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY AND THE CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING COMPANY

(Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station)

Docket No. 50-346

NOTICE AND ORDER FOR SPECIAL PREHEARING CONFERENCE

In our Memorandum and Order dated March 30, 1973, we held that the petition to intervene filed by Mrs. Evelyn Stebbins, for the Coalition for Safe Nuclear Power, failed to meet the requirements of Section 2.714 of the Commission's Rules of Practice. Mrs. Stebbins was granted an additional 20 days within which to resubmit a petition in conformance with said requirements relating to the environmental matters covered by Appendix D to Part 50.

By letter dated April 16, 1973, Mrs. Stebbins submitted an amended petition to intervene. Both the Applicants and Staff have responded. While the petition, as amended, attempts to comply with the requirements of Section 2.714, it is still vague, unclear and ambiguous.

Nevertheless, the Board, mindful of the fact that Mrs. Stebbins is without benefit of counsel, and recognizing that the failure to comply may stem from a misunderstanding on the part of the proposed Intervenors as to the facts needed to meet the requirements of Section 2.714, has decided to hold a Special Prehearing Conference to clarify and resolve the matter.

The Board hereby directs the parties to appear at a Special Prehearing Conference as noted below to discuss for the benefit of the Board:

- (1) the interests of the proposed Intervenors,
- (2) their contentions and basis therefor,
- (3) such other matters as may aid in the disposition of this proceeding.

The proposed Intervenors should be fully prepared to respond to the observations and objections noted by the Staff and the Applicants in their respective responses to the amended petition. In addition, the Board will require that the petitioner further clarify and specify in greater detail the basis for the contentions proposed.

Accordingly, a Special Prehearing Conference shall be held on May 22, 1973, at the Cleveland City Hall, City Council Chambers, 2nd Floor, 601 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44114, commencing at 9:30 a.m. local time.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

John B. Farmakides, Chairman

Issued at Washington, D. C., this 4th day of May, 1973.

नमीउ

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ATOMIC ENERGY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)
THE TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.)

Docket No. 50-346

(Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of NOTICE AND ORDER FOR SPECIAL PREHEARING CONFERENCE dated May 4, 1973 in the captioned matter have been served per the attached Service List by deposit in the United States mail, first class or air mail, this 4th dya of May 1973.

Proper G. Directly
Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Attachment: Service List

cc: Mr. Farmakides
Mr. Scinto
ASLBP
E. Goulbourne
Reg. Files
ASLAB

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ATOMIC ENERGY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)

THE TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.)

Docket No. 50-346

(Davis-Besse Nuclear Power)

Station, Unit 1)

SERVICE LIST

John B. Farmakides, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Atomic Energy Commission Washington, D. C. 20545

Dr. Cadet H. Hand, Jr., Director Bodega Marine Laboratory University of California P. O. Box 247 Bodega Bay, California 94923

Mr. Frederick J. Shon Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Atomic Energy Commission Washington, D. C. 20545

Joseph F. Tubridy, Esq.
Alternate Chairman
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
4100 Cathedral Avenue, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20016

Dr. Harry Foreman
Director, Center for Population
Studies
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455

Joseph Scinto, Esq.
Francis X. Davis, Esq.
Regulatory Staff Counsel
U. S. Atomic Energy Commission
Washington, D. C. 20545

Gerald Charnoff, Esq. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 910 17th Street, N. W. Washington, D. C. 20006

Leslie Henry, Esq. Fuller, Seney, Henry & Hodge 300 Madison Avenue Toledo, Ohio 43604

Mr. Glenn J. Sampson, Vice President The Toledo Edison Company 420 Madison Avenue Toledo, Ohio 43601

Director Ida Rupp Public Library Port Clinton, Ohio 43452 Information copies to:

Dr. Owen Davies Ohio Audubon Council 13446 Harlon Avenue Lakewood, Ohio 44107

Miss Benevieve S. Cook 25296 Hall Drive Westlake, Ohio 44145

Miss Seba H. Estill Conservation Chairman Izaak Walton League of America 3577 Cummings Road Cleveland, Ohio 44118

Mr. George Kundtz 13167 Westchester Trail Chesterland, Ohio 44026

Citizens for Clean Air & Water 312 Park Building 140 Public Square Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Mr. Steven J. Rhodes 36900 Eagle Road Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094

Mr. Alan Rhodes 36900 Eagle Road Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094

Miss Sandy Nichols, Secretary Citizens for a Safe Environment P. O. Box 265 Mentor, Ohio 44060

Mr. John E. Pendleton 6460 Co. Road 247 Vickery, Ohio 43464

Mr. R. M. Bimber 10471 Prouty Road Painesville, Ohio 44077

Mr. Steve Gannis 4254 Hickory Lane Warrensville Heights, Ohio 44128 Russell Z. Baron, Esq. Brannon, Ticktin, Baron and Mancini 930 Keith Building Cleveland, Ohio 44115

James L. Knight, Esq. 633 National Bank Building Toldeo, Ohio 43604

Mr. Glenn H. Lau Rt. 1, Box 126 Oak Harbor, Ohio 43449

Miss Vicki Evans L.I.F.E. Box 15, University Hall Bowling Green State University Bowling Green, Ohio 43403

Beatrice K. Bleicher, Esq. Coburn, Smith, Rohrbacher & Gibson Toledo Trust Building, 7th Floor Toledo, Ohio 43604

Jerome S. Kalur, Esq.
Jamison, Ulrich, Burkhalter
and Hesser
1425 National City Bank Building
Clevelant, Ohio 44114

Mr. Roger W. Williams
Atomic Energy Coordinator
State of Ohio Development Department
65 South Front Street
P. O. Box 1001
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Mr. William O. Walker, Director Department of Industrial Relations 851 Ohio Department Building Columbus, Ohio 43215

John W. Cashman, M.D. Director of Health Ohio Department of Health 450 East Town Street Columbus, Ohio 43216 Mrs. Evelyn Stebbins, Chairman Coalition for Safe Nuclear Power 312 Park Building 140 Public Square Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Miss Donna Brod 340 Chapman Bowling Green, Ohio 43403

Miss Sharon D. Mitch 2250 Perrysburg-Hollans Maumee, Ohio

Mrs. James H. Angel, Chairman Citizens for Land and Water Use 2084 Elbur Avenue Cleveland, Ohio 44107