## NATIONAL SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS



May 25, 1989

Honorable Lando W. Zech, Jr. Chairman Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1717 H Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Chairman:

The National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) announces the eleventh annual Federal Engineer of the Year Award and cordially invites your participation this year.

The 1989 Federal Engineer of the Year Awards (FEYA) program was a big success! The winner, Dr. Ravi Jain, P.E. of the Army Corps of Engineers, reminded us that the effort of putting this program together is truly worth it—and is appreciated!

We have received many letters thanking us for sponsoring the event. However, Admiral Johanson of the Coast Guard summed up the importance of the evening best by saying, "It is the sole award program that publicly recognizes the top engineers in government and the federal engineers' contributions to society."

The award focuses on outstanding individual engineers while recognizing the accomplishments of all federal government engineers. Through this program, NSPE is pleased to offer you the opportunity to formally acknowledge the contributions of your top engineer. It also allows the agency the chance to compete with over forty agencies representing over 90,000 engineers in the federal workforce.

The 1990 FEYA banquet will be held on Wednesday, February 21, at the Stouffer Concourse Hotel in Crystal City. Award materials will be mailed at the end of June. Nominations are due at NSPE by November 1. Please advise us if the information listed on the attached sheet for your contact person is incorrect. A quick-response form for this purpose is included with this letter. Our staff coordinator will communicate directly with that individual on further details of the program and the awards ceremony.

We at NSPE look forward to working with you.

8911150070 891030 PDR CDMMS NRCC CORRESPONDENCE PDR

Donald G. Weinert, P.E.

Executive Director

Enclosures cc: Duane Potter

## POINT-OF-CONTACT INFORMATION

FOR

## NSPE FEDERAL ENGINEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

Depart	ment/Agency:
POINT	OF CONTACT
Name:	
Title:	
Mailin	g Address:
Teleph	one:
	return this form as soon as possible to: Kelly Cunningham, NSPE, 1420 treet, Alexandria, Virginia 22314-2715.
Note:	The Point of Contact is generally an Incentive Awards Officer or Personnel Officer who will: supervise distribution of the nomination forms to all appropriate parties within the department/agency, announce the program through agency newsletters or meetings, monitor the judging process within the agency and insure prompt filing of the necessary forms and photos to NSPE. This individual will also be requested to distribute the banquet tickets to agency attendees and be responsible for returning ticket payments to NSPE.
Inform	ral press release on the program will be sent to the agency Public ation Officer if you desire. Please list the name and address of that dual below:
PUBLIC	INFORMATION OFFICER
Depart	ment/Agency:
Name:	
Addres	

## PEDERAL ENGINEER OF THE YEAR POINT OF CONTACTS

Organization	Contact Person	Telephone #
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture	Pam Curtis	202/447-3083
U.S. Dept. of the Air Force	Satish Abrol	202/767-6249
Office of Architect of the Capitol	William F. Raines, Jr.	202/225-1207
Central Intelligence Agency	Charles W. Holman	202/482-5053
U.S. Coast Guard	Ron Silva	202/267-1851
U.S. Dept. of Commerce	Michael Osver	202/377-4861
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers	Frank Oliva	202/272-0399
Defense Communications Agency	Donna Kay Saavedra	· 202/746-2012
Defense Intelligence Agency	Sarah Bell	202/373-2669
Defense Logistics Agency	Grace Sams	703/274-6428
Defense Nuclear Agency	Joan W. Scott	703/325-1101
U.S. Dept. of Energy	Rita Moore	202/586-8509
Environmental Protection Agency	William L. English	202/382-3347
Federal Aviation Administration	Earl Portlock	202/267-3931
Federal Communications Commission	Randolph Kruger	202/632-7541
Federal Maritime Commission	William J. Heron, Jr.	202/523-5773
Federal Trade Commission	Judy Brooks	202/326-2022
U.S. Army Forces Command	Jack Seifert	404/669-5412?
General Services Administration	Kathy Brand	202/566-0683
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services	Bonita Goodwin	202/475-0324
Dept. of Housing & Urban Development	Marcella Belt	202/755-7340
U.S. Dept. of Interior	Ann Meroney	202/343-5284
Interstate Commerce Commission	Franklin P. Jacobs	202/275-7607
U.S. Dept. of Labor	Tom Seymour	202/523-8061
U.S. Army Materiel Command	Beatrice Casey	703/274-8657
Mine Safety & Health Administration	Helen Glekas	703/235-1356
NASA	Debbie Green	202/453-2620
National Science Foundation	Kim Helm	202/357-9468
Nat'l Inst. of Science & Technology	Nancy Skinner	301/975-2302
National Security Agency	Jan Speak	301/859-€929
Naval Air Systems Command	Janet M. Sabo	703/746-3778
Naval Facilities Engrg.	Sandra A. Berry	703/325-0450
Naval Sea Systems Command	Frances Corradino	202/692-3839
Naval Supply Systems Command	William H. Campbell	202/692-2269
Nuclear Regulatory Commission	Duane Potter	301/492-8930

Alfred Eichner	202/268-2147
Helen Henderson	202/746-4010
Kay Smith	202/647-1602
Sandra Pratt	615/632-3341
David Stoakley	804/727-2498
Nadine Rawls	202/366-9453
Dick McConnell	202/233-2864
Mary Alice Giarda	202/485-8113
	Helen Henderson Kay Smith Sandra Pratt David Stoakley Nadine Rawls Dick McConnell