8005200608

H HOWARD CORDURY JOHN R DETZ CHARLES H RESSLER JAMES A ROMANO H BRUCE GERBER MAURICE A HADEWORTH HALTER K MORRIS J ODUGLASS BERRY HAROLD I WADDINGTON JAMES R MADARA JOHN E HATERS

ALBERT C. HOOKE CHARLES W. PICHERING WILLIAM H. ALLEN JOSEPH W. LIPSCOMB MARCELLO H. SOTO FRANK J. DONATELLI HERMAN R. STARTZENBACH JAMES L. LONG ANTON F. MORIN RAY F. STALIFER F. JAMES KNIGHT GANNETT FLEMING CORDORY AND CARPENTER. INC. ENGINEERS AND PLANNERS



P. O. BOX 1963 HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA 17105 PHONE 717 763-7211

CABLE ADDRESS GANFLEC

## May 13, 1980

Dr. Bernard J. Snyder, Program Director Three Mile Island Program Office Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Dear Dr. Snyder:

Thank you for forwarding me a copy of NRC's "Environmental Assessment for Decontamination of the Three Mile Island Unit 2 Reactor Building Atmosphere" (NUREG-0662) and two addenda. I have read this report and the addenda with concerned interest and find that the report only confirms the opinion I have held for some time, and that is that we should proceed with venting the krypton in the damaged unit at Three Mile Island at the earliest possible date. It is incredible to me that such an enlightened society as we have today continues to let that crippled unit lie as it is without proceeding with a clean-up. In the interest of safety for all of us, we should proceed with the first step, that is the venting of the krypton, just as quickly as meteorological conditions permit.

You may be interested to know that at a meeting of the Board of Directors of Gannett Fleming Corddry and Carpenter, Inc., held on May 9, 1980, I asked the other six members of the Board for their opinion on the venting at Three Mile Island. These men are all registered professional engineers but not nuclear engineers. They have, of course, followed the problems at Three Mile Island since the accident. They were unanimous in their opinion that the venting should proceed immediately.

Very truly yours,

JOHN R. DIETZ

D019

Chairman of the Board

JRD:bs

C KENNETH MYERS PAUL E PAUL CEORGE H SMITH ROBERT J DETZ RONALD J DRIVEVCH RUSSELL S KLINGENSMITH EDWARD & MONROE DAVID ANTENUCCI PAUL & BRICKER WILLIAM K CORLISS JR ROBERT A STARK JOHN J TURCK THOMAS R BENYO WILLIAM C EHRESMAN FREDERICK FUTCHKO JAMES G HANEY GERALD B SPECK ROGER J BANKS GEOFFREY A FOSBROOK THOMAS M RALIFORD STEPHEN F TALIAN