NRC POR 8005120112



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

> April 16, 1980 NRC/TMI-80-064

Docket No. 50-320

Mr. R. C. Arnold Senior Vice President Metropolitan Edison Company 100 Interpace Parkway Parsippany, New Jersey 07054

Dear Mr. Arnold:

Subject: Mini Decay Heat Removal Overpressurization from Steam Generator Burp

We have reviewed the two letters, TMI-II-R-1219 dated January 9, 1980, and TMI-II-R-1194 dated December 17, 1979, concerning precautions to be taken in preventing the MDHR system from overpressurization due to steam generator "burps". In the latter letter, three options were recommended. They are: (1) maintain letdown at 1.8 gpm when RCS temperature is above 150°F; (2) introduce a gas vo.ume of 38.0 cu. ft. at 80 psi and have no letdown; and (3) reduce Reactor Coolant System (RCS) temperature to below 120°F with the reactor building temperature (RB) maintained above 80°F and have no letdown. It appears that you recommend to implement option (3). We concur, however, we believe that a further study should be performed in order to determine the best way of achieving and maintaining the RCS and RB temperature conditions prior to the MDHR system operation.

Some of our concerns are addressed in the following questions:

- a. What assurance is there in maintaining the RB temperature above 80°F? The RB temperature has ranged from 75°F to 80°F with one pump running, but without the evaporation cooler functioning (our understanding). With RB pump shut off can the temperature climb to higher than 80°F or do fans also have to be shutdown? Secondly, how will the RCS temperature be reduced to and maintained at 120°F?
- b. For option 3, it is stated that letdown will have to be maintained while using the MDHR until the primary system is below 120°F. This will create some waste via the letdown line. We request that you provide information concerning the activation of the OTSG "B" loop long-term cooling system for RCS temperature reduction down to 120°F, and then activation of the MDHR system.

Mr. R. C. Arnold

In conclusion, we request that the above concerns be evaluated and the results be reflected in the MDHR system operating procedure so as to include appropriate precautions in precluding MDHR overpressurization from steam generator burps.

Tohur T. Collins

John T. Collins Deputy Program Manager TMI Program Office

cc: See Distribution List

R. C. Arnold Metropolitan Edison Company

Mr. G. K. Hovey Director, TMI-2 Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. J. J. Barton Manager, Site Operations, TMI-2 Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. R. W. Heward Radiological Control Manager, TMI-2 Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. B. Elam Manager, Plant Engineering Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. R. F. Wilson Director, Technical Functions Metropolitan Edison Company P.O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. L. W. Harding Supervisor of Licensing Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. E. G. Wallace Licensing Manager GPU Service Corporation 100 Interpace Parkway Parsippany, NJ 07054

Mr. I. R. Finfrock, Jr. Jersey Central Power & Light Company Madison Avenue at Punch Bowl Road Morristown, NJ 07950

Mr. R. W. Conrad Pennsylvania Electric Company 1007 Broad Street Johnstown, PA 15907 J. B. Lieberman, Esquire Berlock, Israel, Lieberman 26 Broadway New York, NY 10004

George F. Trowbridge, Esquire Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

Ms. Mary V. Southard, Chairperson Citizens for a Safe Environment P. O. Box 405 Harrisburg, PA 17108

Dr. Walter H. Jordan 881 W. Outer Drive Oak Ridge, TM 37830

Dr. Linda W. Little 5000 Hermitage Drive Raleigh, NC 27612

Karin W. Carter, Esquire 505 Executive House P. O. Box 2357 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Honorable Mark Cohen 512 E-3 Main Capital Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

Ellyn Weiss, Esquire Sheldon, Harmon, Roisman & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W., Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Mr. Steven C. Sholly 304 S. Market Street Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Mr. Thomas Gerusky Bureau of Radiation Protection P. O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, PA 19149

Ms. Jane Lee R. D. 3, Box 3521 Etters, PA 17319

3

Mr. R. C. Arnold Netropolitan Edison Company

Walter W. Cohen, Consumer Advocate Department of Justice Strawberry Square, 14th Floor Harrisburg, PA 17127

Robert L. Knupp, Esquire Assistant Solicitor Knupp and Andrews P. O. Box P 407 N. Front Street Harrisburg, PA 17108

John E. Minnich, Chairperson Dauphin Co. Board of Commissioners Dauphin County Courthouse Front and Market Streets Harrisburg, PA 17101

Robert Q. Pollard Chesapeak Energy Alliance 609 Montpelier Street Baltimore, MD 21218

Chauncey Kepford Judith H. Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16801

Ms. Frieda Berryhill, Chairperson Coalition for Nuclear Power Plant Postponement 2610 Grendon Drive Wilmington, DE 19808

Holly S. Keck Anti-Nuclear Group Representing York 245 W. Philadelphia Street York, PA 17404

John Levin, Esquire Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission P. O. Box 3265 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Jordon D. Cunningham, Esquire Fox, Farr and Cunningham 2320 N. Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110 Ms. Kathy McCaughin Three Mile Island Alert, Inc. 23 South 21st Street Harrisburg, PA 17104

Ms. Marjorie M. Aamodt R. D. #5 Coatesville, PA 19320

Ms. Karen Sheldon Sheldon, Harmon, Roisman & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W., Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Earl B. Hoffman Dauphin County Commissioner Dauphin County Courthouse Front and Market Street Harrisburg, PA 17101

Government Publications Section State of Library of Pennsylvania Box 1601 Education Building Harrisburg, PA 17127

Dr. Edward O. Swartz Board of Supervisors Londonderry Township RFD #1 Geyers Church Road Middletown, PA 17057

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Region III Office ATTN: EIS COORDINATOR Curtis Building (Sixth Floor) 6th and Walnut Streets Philadelphia, PA 19106

Dauphin County Office Emergency Preparedness Court House, Room 7 Front and Market Streets Harrisburg, PA 17101

Department of Enviornmental Resources AITN: Director, Office of Radiological Health P. O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17105 Mr. R. C. Arnold Metropolitan Edison Company

Governor's Office of State, Planning and Development ATTN: Coordinator, Pennsylvania Clearinghouse P. O. Box 1323 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mrs. Rhoda D. Carr 1402 Marene Drive Harrisburg, PA 17109

Mr. Richard Roberts The Patriot 812 Market Street Harrisburg, PA 17105

Mr. Robert B. Borsum Babcock & Wilcox Nuclear Power Generation Division Suite 420, 7735 Old Georgetown Road Bethesda, MD 20014

Ivan W. Smith, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Docketing and Service Section U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555