

UNITED ST 7 55 NUCLEAR REGULAT / COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

February 22, 1980

Alan S. Rosenthal, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. W. Reed Johnson Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555 Dr. John H. Buck, Member Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

In the Matters of: PHILADELPHIA ELECTRIC COMPANY ET AL. (Peach Bottom Atomic Power Station, Units 2 & 3) Docket Nos. 50-277 & 50-278 METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY ET AL. (Three Mile Island Nuclear Station, Unit No. 2) Docket No. 50-320 PUBLIC SERVICE ELECTRIC AND GAS COMPANY (Hope Creek Generating Station, Units 1 & 2) Docket Nos. 50-354 & 50-355 ROCHESTER GAS AND ELECTRIC CORPORATION ET AL. (Sterling Power Project, Nuclear Unit T) Docket No. STN 50-485

Gentlemen:

Reference is made to the Appeal Board Notification from the NRC Staff dated December 21, 1979, which was served in the above-captioned proceedings. In this Notification, the Staff advised that a draft report, prepared by Battelle Pacific Northwest Laboratories, on recent measurements of radon releases from underground mining would be provided to the Appeal Board and all parties as soon as available. The draft report has just been made available to the Staff and as a convenience I enclose a copy for each Appeal Board member and those persons listed below. In the event anyone else receiving a copy of this letter desires a copy, please contact me in writing at the above address or by telephone at 301-492-8674.

As a result of this Draft Report, there may be some minor changes in Staff witness Ralph M. Wilde's testimony filed on January 18, 1980.

Sincerely. Seman m Saulerich

Bernard M. Bordenick Counsel for NRC Staff

cc (see page 2)

Dr. Chauncey R. Kepford Sue Reinert Jay E. Silberg, Esg.

cc (w/o encl.):

Michael C. Farrar, Esq. Edward G. Bauer, Jr., Esg. Eugene J. Bradley, Esq. Troy B. Conner, Jr., Esq. Raymond L. Hovis, Esc. W. W. Anderson, Es. Myron Bloom, Esq. John B. Griffith, Esq. Richard S. Salzman, Esq. Edward Luton, Esq. Dr. George C. Anderson Mr. Lester Kornblith, Jr. Dirk S. Adams, Esq. Ecology Action Jeffrey Cohen, Esq. Gerald Charnoff, Esq. Ms. Sharon Morey Mr. Ernest E. Hill Dr. Oscar H. Paris Mark L. First, Esq.

F. Michael Parkowski, Esq. William Horner, Esq. Jerome E. Scharfman, Esq. Samuel J. Chilk Karin W. Carter Harry Voight, Esq. Peter A. Bucksbaum, Esq. Dr. Paul Mecray, Jr. Richard Fryling, Jr., Esq. Mr. David A. Caccia Dr. John Lamarsh Ms. Judith H. Johnsrud Mr. Gustave A. Linenberger Dr. Ernest O. Salo George F. Trowbridge, Esq. James A. Humphreys, III Atomic Safety & Licensing Board Panel Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Panel Docketing and Service Section