



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

January 21, 1980 NRC/TMI-80-011

Docket No. 50-289 50-320

> Mr. R. C. Arnold Senior Vice President Metropolitan Edison Company 100 Interpace Parkway Parsippany, NJ 07054

Dear Mr. Arnold:

Subject: TMI-1 Liquid Waste Storage Capacity

In a letter from J. G. Herbein to R. Vollmer (TLL-001) dated January 11, 1980, Met-Ed requested that the NRC concur on the use of the available tankage (two empty reactor coolant bleed tanks) in Unit 1 for temporary storage of water from Unit 2 borated water storage tank (BWST). The tankage in Unit 1 (two empty reactor coolant bleed tanks) is a requirement resulting from the Commission Order related to the operation of EPICOR II, should a contingency require additional site storage capacity. In your letter of January 11, you contend that the storage capacity created by the transfer of water from the Unit 2 BWST to the Unit 1 bleed tanks satisfies the intent of the Commission Order for the operation of EPICOR II. However, it is our contention that the Commission Order requires that shielded storage tanks located inside a building for secondary containment) be maintained for continger by purposes. For example, if it became necessary (e.g. liquid leakage out of containment) to transfer reactor building sump water out of the reactor building, the capacity in the Unit 2 BWST could not be used for storage of such water, due to the lack of adequate shielding. In addition, our approval of your request to reduce the Unit 2 BWST level to a minimum of 100,000 gallons was based upon an understanding, as stated in our letter of December 18, 1979, (J. Collins to R. Wilson), that the BWST would subsequently be refilled with EPICOR II processed water. We do not find acceptable your reasoning that the Unit 2 BWST provides equivalent storage to the Unit 1 bleed tanks and, therefore, cannot concur with your request for temporary use of the Unit 1 bleed tanks. We would be receptive to review any alternative proposals which do not conflict with the Commission Order.

> J. T. Collins, Deputy Director NRC/TMI Technical Support Staff

cc: See Service Distribution List

R. C. Arnold Metropolitan Edison Company

POOR ORIGIN

Mr. J. G. Herbein Vice President Nuclear Operations Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. R. F. Wilson Director, TMI-2 Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. G. P. Miller
Manager, TMI-1
Metropolitan Edison Company
P. O. Box 480
Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. J. J. Barton
Manager, Site Operations, TMI-2
Metropolitan Edison Company
P. O. Box 480
Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. M. E. Potts
Radiological Controls Manager, TMI-1
Metropolitan Edison Company
P. O. Box 480
Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. R. W. Heward Radiological Control Manager, TMI-2 Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. J. J. Colitz
Plant Engineering Manager, TMI-1
Metropolitan Edison Company
P. O. Box 480
Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. B. Elam Manager, Plant Engineering Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Hiddletown, PA 17057 Mr. L. W. Harding Supervisor of Licensing Metropolitan Edison Company P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. E. G. Wallace Licensing Manager GPU Service Corporation 100 Interpace Parkway Parsippany, NJ 07054

Mr. I. R. Finfrock, Jr. Jersey Central Power & Light Company Madison Avenue at Punch Bowl Road Morristown, NJ 07950

Mr. R. W. Conrad Pennsylvania Electric Company 1007 Broad Street Johnstown, PA 15907

J. P. Lieberman, Esquire Berlock, Israel, Lieberman 26 Broadway New York, NY 10004

George F. Trowbridge, Esquire Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

Ms. Mary V. Southard, Chairperson Citizens for a Safe Environment P. O. Box 405 Harrisburg, PA 17108

Dr. Walter H. Jordan 881 W. Outer Drive Oak Ridge, TN 37830

Dr. Linda W. Little 5000 Hermitage Drive Raleigh, NC 27612 R. C. Arnold Metropolitan Edison Company

Karin W. Carter, Esquire 505 Executive House P. O. Box 2357 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Honorable Mark Cohen 512 E-3 Main Capital Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

Ellyn Weiss, Esquire Sheldon, Harmon, Roisman & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W., Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Hr. Steven C. Sholly 304 S. Market Street Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Mr. Thomas Gerusky Bureau of Radiation Protection P. O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, PA 19149

Ms. Jane Lee R. D. 3, Box 3521 Etters, PA 17319

Walter W. Cohen, Consumer Advocate Department of Justice Strawberry Square, 14th Floor Harrisburg, PA 17727

Robert L. Knupp, Esquire Assistant Solicitor Knupp and Andrews P. O. Box P 407 N. Front Street Harrisburg, PA 17108

John E. Minnich, Chairperson
Dauphin Co. Board of Commissioners
Dauphin County Courthouse
Front and Market Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17101

Robert Q. Pollard Chesapeak Energy Alliance 609 Montpelier Street Baltimore, MD 21218

Chauncey Kepford Judith H. Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16801

Ms. Frieda Berryhill, Chairperson Coalition for Nuclear Power Plant Postponement 2610 Grendon Drive Wilmington, DE 19808

Holly S. Keck Anti-Nuclear Group Representing York 245 W. Philadelphia Street York, PA 17404

John Levin, Esquire
Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission
P. O. Box 3265
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Jordon D. Cunningham, Esquire Fox, Farr and Cunningham 2320 N. Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Ms. Kathy McCaughin Three Mile Island Alert, Inc. 23 South 21st Street Harrisburg, PA 17104

Ms. Marjorie M. Aamodt R. D. #5 Coatesville, PA 19320

Ms. Karen Sheldon ·
Sheldon, Harmon, Roisman & Weiss
1725 I Street, N.W., Suite 506
Washington, DC 20006

R. C. Arnold Metropolitan Edison Company

Earl B. Hoffman
Uauphin County Commissioner
Dauphin County Courthouse
Front and Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101

Government Publications Section State of Library of Pennsylvania Box 1601 Education Building Harrisburg, PA 17127

Dr. Edward O. Swartz Board of Supervisors Londonderry Township RFD #1 Geyers Church Road Middletown, PA 17057

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Region III Office AITN: EIS COORDINATOR Curtis Building (Sixth Floor) 6th and Walnut Streets Philadelphia, PA 19106

Dauphin County Office Emergency Preparedness Court House, Room 7 Front and Market Streets Harrisburg, PA 17101

Department of Enviornmental Resources ATTN: Director, Office of Radiological Health P. O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17105

Governor's Office of State
Planning and Development
ATTN: Coordinator, Pennsylvania
Clearinghouse
P. O. Box 1323
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mrs. Rhoda D. Carr 1402 Marene Drive Harrisburg, PA 17109 Mr. Robert B. Borsum
Babcock & Wilcox
Nuclear Power Generation Division
Suite 420, 7735 Old Georgetown Road
Bethesda, MD 20014

Ivan W. Smith, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Docketing and Service Section U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

=