T.KRA



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

June 27, 1980

Docket No. 50-344

Mr. Charles Goodwin, Jr. Assistant Vice President Portland General Electric Company 121 S.W. Salmon Street Portland, Oregon 97204

Dear Mr. Goodwin:

The Commission has issued the enclosed Amendment No. 45 to Facility Operating License No. NPF-1 for Trojan Nuclear Plant. The amendment adds a License Condition (2.C.(11)) in response to your application dated May 12, 1980.

The amendment allows the insertion into the reactor core, for Cycle 3 operation, of two fuel assemblies each containing three stainless steel rods. These fuel assemblies are to be located in core locations B12 and M2.

As required by Technical Specification 6.9.1.1, a startup report should be submitted to NRC within 90 days following completion of startup physics testing.

Copies of the Safety Evaluation and the Notice of Issuance are also enclosed.

Sincerely,

Powla OL.

Robert A. Clark, Chief Operating Reactors Branch #3 Division of Licensing

Enclosures: 1. Amendment No. 45 to NPF-1

- 2. Safety Evaluation
- 3. Notice of Issuance

cc: w/enclosures See next page

8007160365

Mr. Charles Goodwin, Jr. Portland General Electric Company

cc: Mr. J. W. Durham, Esquire Vice President and Corporate Counsel Portland General Electric Company 121 S.W. Salmon Street Portland, Oregon 97204

> Columbia County Courthouse Law Library, Circuit Court Room St. Helens, Oregon 97501

Michael Malmros, Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Trojan Nuclear Plant P. O. Box O Rainier, Oregon 97048

Robert M. Hunt, Chairman Board of County Commissioners Columbia County St. Helens, Oregon 97051

Director, Technical Assessment Division Office of Radiation Programs (AW-459) U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Crystal Mall #2 Arlington, Virginia 20460

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Region X Office ATTN: EIS COORDINATOR 1200 6th Avenue Seattle, Washington 98101 Donald W. Godard, Supervisor Siting and Regulation Oregon Department of Energy Labor and Industries Building Room 111 Salem, Oregon 97310 Mr. Charles Goodwin, Jr. Portland General Electric Company

cc: Mr. Ronald W. Johnson, Esquire Corporate Attorney Portland General Electric Company 121 S.W. Salmon Street Portland, Oregon 97204

> Robert M. Hunt, Chairman Board of County Commissioners Columbia County St. Helens, Oregon 97051

Columbia County Courthouse Law Library, Circuit Court Room St. Helens, Oregon 97051

Director, Oregon Department of Energy Labor and Industries Building, Room 111 Salem, Oregon 97310

Dr. Hugh D. Paxton 1229 41st Street Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544

Michael Malmros, Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Trojan Nuclear Plant P. O. Box O Rainier, Oregon 97048

Dr. Kenneth A. McCollom, Dean Division of Engineering, Architecture and Technology Oklahoma State University Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074 Mr. John A. Kullberg Route One Box 250Q Sauvie Island, Oregon 97231

Maurice Axelrad, Esquire Lowenstein, Newman, Reis, Axelrad and Ioll Suite 1214 1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20036

Richard M. Sandvik, Esquire Frank W. Ostrander, Jr. Counsel for Oregon Dept. of Energy 500 Pacific Building 520 S.W. Yamhill Portland, Oregon 97204

Mr. David B. McCoy 348 Hussey Lane Grants Pass, Oregon 97526

William Kinsey, Esquire 1002 N.F. Holladay Portland, Oregon 97232

Ms. Nina Bell 728 S.E. 26th Street Portland, Oregon 97214

Mr. Eugene R. Rosolie Coalition for Safe Power 215 S.E. 9th Avenue Portland, Oregon 97214 Mr. Charles Goodwin, Jr. Portland General Electric Company

cc: Marshall E. Miller, Esquire, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Kashington, D. C. 20555

> Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Docketing and Service Branch (7) Office of the Secretary U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Alan S. Rosenthal, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. John H. Buck Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. W. Reed Johnson Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel (5) U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555