

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

June 13, 1980

MEMORANDUM FOR: See attached List

FROM:

Elizabeth McCarthy

State Relations Assistant Office of State Programs

SUBJECT:

JUNE 3-4, 1980 TRANSPORTATION TASK FORCE MEETING

The Task Force on Emergency Planning for Transportation Accidents Involving Radioactive Materials met on June 3-4 at DOT offices to provide extensive comments on draft sections of the guidance document which had been written independently by Task Force members.

Four proposals were agreed upon: 1) that a writing group consisting of H. Collins, NRC/FEMA; R. DeFayette, NRC/FEMA; J. Logsdon, EPA; and J. Combs, DOE would rewrite draft 1; 2) that the following schedule would be followed: draft 2 by July 15-30 and draft 3 by August 15-30; 3) that each draft is to be circulated to all Task Force members. Draft 3 will be sent to the IOAC and other Federal agencies for comment with a less than 30 day comment period; 4) that after comments are received and incorporated into draft 3, the document generated will be noticed in the Federal Register for a 90-day public comment period.

A Task Force meeting will be called prior to release of draft 3. Jim McClure is to send material on accident scenarios to be included as an appendix, and Jerry Hill and Mary Whitman are to supply the writing group additional information on contiguous State and local coordination. R. DeFayette noted all comments on the draft on a master copy for the writing group's consideration.

Elizabeth McCarthy

State Relations Assistant Office of State Programs

Enclosure Attendees

## Addressees - Memorandum dated

Ray Clark
Office of Radiation Programs
Tech. Asmt Div(ANR-459) EPA
401 M Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20460

Joe E. Logsdon Envir. Prot. Agency (ANR-461) Washington, DC 20460

Harold E. Collins U.S. Federal Emergency -REPD Management Agency 1725 I Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20472

James D. McClure Sandia Laboratories - Div.4551 Albuquerque, NM 87185

Kenneth Perkins
Office of the Exec. Director
for Operations - 6709
US NRC
Washington, D.C. 20555

Robert DeFayette FEMA Washington, DC 20472 George C. Meyer Federal Emergency Mgt. Agency Office of Plans & Preparedness Washington, DC 20472

Gerald R. Hill Southern States Energy Board 2300 Peachford Road - Suite 1230 Atlanta, GA 30338

US NRC Standards Development Don Nellis NL-5650 Washington, DC 20555

Wendell Carriker Office of Hazardous Materials Department of Transportation 400 7th St. S.W. Washington, DC 20590

Elizabeth McCarthy Program Development Office of State Programs - 7711 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Com. Washington, DC 20555

US NRC Standards Development Ralph Jones NL-5650 Washington, DC 20555 Vern Hodge Nuclear REgulatory Commissio NMSS Transportation-SS-396 Washington, DC 20555

Mary Whitman Western Interstate Energy Bo 2500 Stapleton -3333 Quebec Denver, CO 80207

Sharla G. Vandevender Sandia Laboratories -Div. 45 Albuquerque, NM 87185

US NRC Inspection & Enforcement Alfred Grella EW-359 Washington, DC 20555

Sterling Cole Federal Representative on th Southern Interstate Nuclear 919 18th St., N.W., Rm.510 Washington, DC 20006

Gerald Combs Department of Energy E-201, Germantown Washington, D.C. 20545 Transportation Response Plans Gnidaure

June 3.41880

Southern States Energy Board Jerry Hill STERLING COLE Mary Whitman Western Interstate Erergy Board S NRC, NMSS, FCMS, FCTC Vern Hodge NRC, IE, FFMSI AL Grella EPA/ORP Joe Logsdori NRC, SD Authory Tse ·NRC SP Detsy Mcarthy JOG/61/00 JEZZY Colluss EPA/ORP KAY CLARK Soudia Laus- TTC Jim McClure DOT/MTB/OHMR A.E. COLLINS NRC-SP R.W. DEFAYETTE NRC-SP

POOR ORIGINAL