

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

November 7, 2019

The Honorable Rick Perry Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy Washington, D.C. 20585

Dear Secretary Perry:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, I am acknowledging receipt of your letter of October 23, 2019, addressed to Congresswoman Deb Haaland and copied to Chairman Svinicki regarding the license application from Holtec International for a consolidated interim storage facility (CISF) in New Mexico.

Because your letter relates to subjects raised during adjudication of the application, some of which are currently before the Commission on appeal, a copy of your letter and this acknowledgment will be served on the parties in the Holtec CISF adjudication.

Sincerely,

Rochelle C. Bavol Acting Secretary

Rochelle C. Barry



The Secretary of Energy Washington, DC 20585

October 23, 2019

The Honorable Deb Haaland U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Congresswoman Haaland:

Thank you for your June 19 letter expressing your opposition to the proposed consolidated interim storage facility for spent nuclear fuel (SNF) that Holtec International (Holtec) seeks to construct in New Mexico. As you noted in your letter, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is evaluating Holtec's license application to construct and operate that facility.

I want to reaffirm the Department of Energy's (DOE) commitment to breaking the gridlock that has left SNF stranded at temporary sites across the country. Yet, DOE does not play a role in the licensing of private SNF storage sites. Such licensing is solely in the hands of the NRC. Moreover, even if NRC were to license a private SNF interim storage facility, DOE has no authority to contract for SNF storage services with Holtec or any other private storage provider. This restriction was recently recognized by the NRC's Atomic Safety and Licensing Board in a May 7, 2019, Memorandum and Order issued in the Holtec proceeding. Therefore, I encourage you to continue sharing your concerns with the NRC through participation in the NRC licensing process.

I hope that once progress is made towards developing a permanent repository, states will consider providing their consent to hosting consolidated interim storage.

Sincerely,

Rick Perry

RICK PERRY

cc:

The Honorable Kristine Svinicki, NRC

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)	
HOLTEC INTERNATIONAL)))	Docket No. 72-1051-ISFSI
(HI-STORE Consolidated Interim Storage Facility))))	

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing Letter from NRC Acting Secretary, Rochelle Bavol, to Secretary Rick Perry, Dept. of Energy, have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange (EIE).

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

Mail Stop: O-16B33

Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: ocaamail@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Mail Stop: T-3F23

Washington, DC 20555-0001

Paul S. Ryerson, Chair Administrative Judge

Nicholas G. Trikouros Administrative Judge

Dr. Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge

E-mail: paul.ryerson@nrc.gov

nicholas.trikouros@nrc.gov gary.arnold@nrc.gov

Ian Curry, Law Clerk

Stephanie Fishman, Law Clerk Molly Mattison, Law Clerk

Taylor Mayhall, Law Clerk

E-mail: ian.curry@nrc.gov

stephanie.fishman@nrc.gov molly.mattison@nrc.gov taylor.mayhall@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Mail Stop: O-16B33

Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: hearingdocket@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Office of the General Counsel

Mail Stop - O-14A44

Washington, DC 20555-0001

Sheldon Clark, Esq.

Joseph I. Gillespie, Esq.

Esther Houseman, Esq.

Sara B. Kirkwood, Esq.

Mauri Lemoncelli, Esq.

Patrick Moulding, Esq.

Carrie Safford, Esq.

Thomas Steinfeldt, Esq.

Alana M. Wase, Esq.

Brian Newell, Senior Paralegal

E-mail: sheldon.clark@nrc.gov

joe.gillespie@nrc.gov

esther.houseman@nrc.gov

sara.kirkwood@nrc.gov

mauri.lemoncelli@nrc.gov

patrick.moulding@nrc.gov

carrie.safford@nrc.gov

thomas.steinfeldt@nrc.gov

alana.wase@nrc.gov

krupskaya.castellon@nrc.gov

brian.newell@nrc.gov

Docket No. 72-1051-ISFSI

Letter from NRC Acting Secretary, Rochelle Bavol, to Secretary Rick Perry, Dept. of Energy

Counsel for Holtec International Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP 1200 Seventeenth Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Meghan Hammond, Esq. Anne Leidich, Esq. Michael Lepre, Esq. Jay Silberg, Esq. Timothy Walsh, Esq.

E-mail: meghan.hammond@pillsburylaw.com

anne.leidich@pillsburylaw.com michael.lepre@pillsburylaw.com jay.silberg@pillsburylaw.com timothy.walsh@pillsburylaw.com

Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg LLP 1725 DeSales Street NW

Suite 500

Washington, DC 20036 Diane Curran, Esq.

E-mail: dcurran@harmoncurran.com

Robert V. Eye Law Office, LLC 4840 Bob Billings Parkway Lawrence, KS 66049 Timothy J. Laughlin, Esq. E-mail: tijay1300@gmail.com

Turner Environmental Law Clinic 1301 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30322

Mindy Goldstein, Esq.

E-mail: magolds@emory.edu

Don't Waste Michigan 316 N. Michigan Street, Suite 520 Toledo, OH 43604-5627

Terry J. Lodge, Esq.

E-mail: tjlodge50@yahoo.com

Counsel for Sierra Club 4403 1st Avenue SE, Suite 402 Cedar Rapids, IA 52402

Wallace L. Taylor, Esq. E-mail: wtaylor784@aol.com

Counsel for NAC International Inc.

Robert Helfrich, Esq. NAC International Inc. 3930 E Jones Bridge Rd., Ste. 200

Norces CA 2002

Norcross, GA 30092

E-mail: rhelfrich@nacintl.com

Hogan Lovells LLP 555 13th Street NW Washington, DC 20004 Sachin S. Desai, Esq. Allison E. Hellreich, Esq.

E-mail: <u>sachin.desai@hoganlovells.com</u> allison.hellreich@hoganlovells.com

Law Office of Nancy L. Simmons 120 Girard Boulevard SE Albuquerque, NM 87106

Nancy L. Simmons, Esq. E-mail: nlsstaff@swcp.com

Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 102 S. Canyon Carlsbad, NM 88220

John A. Heaton

E-mail: jaheaton1@gmail.com

Docket No. 72-1051-ISFSI

Letter from NRC Acting Secretary, Rochelle Bavol, to Secretary Rick Perry, Dept. of Energy

Eddy County, NM* 101 W. Greene Street Carlsbad, NM

Rick Rudometkin

E-mail: rrudometkin@co.eddy.nm.us
* Eddy County not served due to no representative for the County assigned at the time of Mr. Rudometkin's departure.

Lea County, NM 100 N. Main Lovington, NM 88260

Jonathan B. Sena

E-mail: jsena@leacounty.net

City of Hobbs, NM 2605 Lovington Highway Hobbs, NM 88242

Garry A. Buie

E-mail: gabuie52@hotmail.com

City of Carlsbad, NM 1024 N. Edward Carlsbad, NM 88220

Jason G. Shirley

E-mail: jgshirley@cityofcarlsbadnm.com

[Original signed by Herald M. Speiser]
Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland, this 7th day of November, 2019