

September 10, 1979

NRC PUBLIC DOCUMENT ROOM

Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esg., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Mr. Gustave A. Linenberger Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dr. E. Leonard Cheatum Route 3, Box 350A Watkinsville, Georgia 30677

In the Matter of Houston Lighting & Power Company (Allens Creek Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1 Docket No. 50-466

Gentlemen:

By letter to Staff Counsel received September 4, 1979, Ms. Elinore P. Cumings stated that her undated, previously filed petition to intervene was deposited in the United States mail on July 11, 1979. The clarification was submitted in reply to the Staff response of August 1, 1979, wherein it was noted that since Ms. Cumings' petition was received long after the July 18, 1979 date set for filing petitions to intervene, it was not known whether or not the petition was timely filed. Ms. Cumings' statement shows that the petition was timely filed and the Staff considers it as such according to the previous response.

The Staff is providing a copy of Ms. Cumings' letter to the Board and service list since Ms. Cumings apparently believed only a personal reply was necessary.

Sincerely.

thea alle

7910220 390

3 004

Colleen P. Woodhead Counsel for NRC Staff

Enclosure A. Stated

cc: See Page Two

cc: (w/encl) R. Gordon Gooch, Esq. J. Gregory Copeland, Esq. Jack Newman, Esq. Richard Lowerre, Esq. Hon. Jerry Sliva Hon. John R. Mikeska Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docketing and Service Section Mr. John F. Doherty Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. Framson Mr. F. H. Potthoff, III D. Marrack Mr. Jean-Claude De Bremaecker Gregory J. Kainer Gayle De Gregori Mrs. W. S. Cleaves Barbara Karkaki Carro Hinderstein Texas Public Interest Research Group, Inc. Brenda A. McCorkle Mr. Wayne Rentfro Rosemary N. Lemmer Laura Lewis Mrs. Karen L. Stade Jon D. Pittman, Sr. Ms. Ann Wharton Ms. Kathy Mohnke Mr. James H. Robinson Ms. Bonny Wallace Mr. and Mrs. Bruce A. Palmiter Dr. Marlene R. Warner Mr. Eugene F. Mueller James R. Piepmeier Elinore P. Cumings Mr. and Mrs. Larry W. Scott Ms. Gertrude Barnstone Roy E. Loyless Donald D. Weaver Dorothy F. Carrick Mr. Robert R. Edgar

Mr. William J. Schuessler D. B. Waller, Jr. Jeffery R. West Janice Blue Gabrielle Cosgriff Charles Andrew Perez Leotis Johnston Dick Day Niami Hanson Mr. Robert C. Kuehm Ms. Dana Erichson Ms. Nancy L. Durham T. E. Elder Helen Foley Marjorie A. Girasich Mrs. R. P. Erichson Abraham Davidson Susan G. McGuire -Margaret Bishop Robin Griffith Ron Waters Glen Van Slyke J. Morgan Bishop Mrs. Connie Wilson Patricia L. Streilein Carolina Conn John and Jeanette Severage Stephen A. Doggett, Esq. J. Michael Ancarrow Virginia Lacy Perrenod Jeanne Robertson Barbara Blatt Laura Brode Stephanie M. Brown James Chilcoat Barbara J. Ginn Dorothy J. Ryan Rachel Weinreb-Kuehm Mary L. Fuller Frances Pavlovic W. Matthew Perrenod Bryan L. Baker Fern Barnes Ms. Kathryn Ottie

.3 005