J. Cark



## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

April 19, 1979

The Honorable Walter F. Mondale President of the Senate Washington, U. C. 20510

Dear Mr. President:

Section 14(b) of Public Law 95-601 enacted on November 6, 1978, requires that the Commission prepare a report on means of improving opportunities for State participation in the process for siting, licensing and developing nuclear waste storage or disposal facilities:

(b) The Commission is authorized and directed to prepare a report on means for improving the opportunities for State participation in the process for siting, licensing, and developing nuclear waste storage or disposal facilities. Such report shall include detailed consideration of a program to provide grants through the Commission to any State, and the advisability of such a program, for the purpose of conducting an independent State review of any proposal to develop a nuclear waste storage or disposal facility identified in subsection (a) within such State. On or before March 1, 1979, the Commission shall submit the report to the Congress including. recommendations for improving the opportunities for State participation together with any necessary legislative proposals.

In accordance with Public Law 95-601, the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) hereby transmits to the Congress the report "Means for Improving State Participation in the Siting, Licensing and Development of Federal Nuclear Waste Facilities," NUREG-0539 dated March 1979.

. /

losenh M Hendrie

Enclosure:

Report to Congress-NUREG 0539

IDENTICAL LETTER SENT TO THOSE ON ATTACHED LIST.

## LIST OF ADDRESSES LETTER RE NUREG 0539

The Honorable John D. Dingell, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

cc: Rep. Clarence J. Brown

The Honorable Morris K. Udall, Chairman Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

cc: Rep. Steven Symm

The Honorable J. Bennett Johnston, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D. C. 20510

cc: Sen. Mark O. Hatfield

The Honorable Gary Hart, Chairman Subcommittee on Nuclear Regulation Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D. C. 20510

cc: Sen. Alan Simpson

The Honorable Tom Bevill, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

cc: Rep. John T. Myers

The Honorable Thomas P. O'Neill Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515