

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

October 9, 2019

Kit Ng, Chair Working Group ANS-2.18 12011 Sunset Hills Road, Suite 110 Reston, VA 20190

Michael Truex, Chair Working Group ANS-2.32 Pacific Northwest National Laboratory PO Box 999 Mail Stop: K7-73 Richland, WA 99352

SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION STAFF

TO THE AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY STANDARD COMMITTEE

WORKING GROUPS FOR ANS-2.18 AND ANS-2.32

Dear Dr. Ng and Mr. Truex:

I would like to nominate Dr. Nebiyu Daniel Tiruneh as the authorized U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) representative on the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Standard Committee Working Groups for ANS-2.18, "Standard for Evaluating Radionuclide Transport in Surface Water for Nuclear Power Sites" and ANS-2.32, "Guidance on the Selection and Evaluation of Remediation Methods for Subsurface Contamination." Dr. Tiruneh, a hydrologist in the Office of New Reactors, is responsible for conducting technical reviews related to hydrologic hazards and performing hydrologic modeling and analyses and brings the necessary expertise and education to support development of these standards.

In accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," January 26, 2016, the participation on a committee of an NRC authorized representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of, decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on consensus standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views. However, the NRC's endorsement of these standards, if desired by the NRC, would be part of a separate activity, such as incorporation by reference into rulemaking or endorsement in an NRC regulatory guide.

Correspondence should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Dr. Nebiyu Tiruneh M/S: O-07D21 Washington, D.C. 20555

Telephone 301-415-2080

E-mail: Nebiyu.Tiruneh@nrc.gov

Thank you very much for providing NRC with the opportunity to participate in the work of your committee.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Louise Lund NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research. SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION STAFF

TO THE AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY STANDARD COMMITTEE

WORKING GROUPS FOR ANS-2.18 AND ANS-2.32

DISTRIBUTION:

N. Tiruneh, NRO

D. Barnhurst, NRO

L. Parks, NMSS

A. Campbell, NRO

R. Roche-Rivera, RES

T. Boyce, RES

L. Lund, RES

ADAMS Package Accession No.: ML19241A847 *Email Concurrence

OFFICE	NRO/DLSE/EXHB	NRO/DLSE/EXHB	NMSS/DUWP/RTAB	D:NRO/DLSE
NAME	N. Tiruneh	D. Barnhurst	L. Parks*	A. Campbell
DATE	8/30/2019	9/3/2019	9/4/2019	9/4/2019
OFFICE	RES/DE/RGGIB	RES/DE/RGGIB	D:RES/DE	
NAME	R. Roche-Rivera	T. Boyce	L. Lund	
DATE	9/5/2019	9/9/2019	10/9/2019	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

External Distribution:

- Patricia Schroeder, Standards Manager American Nuclear Society (ANS)
 555 N. Kensington Avenue La Grange Park, IL 60526
 pschroeder@ans.org
- Carl A. Mazzola, Chair
 ANS Environmental and Siting Consensus Committee (ESCC)
 cmazzola@projectenhancement.com