Georgia Power Company 230 Peachtree Street Post Office Box 4545 Atlanta, Georgia 30302 Telephone 404 522-6060

USNRC REA

**Power Generation Department** 

Georgia Po

the southern electric system

79 SEP 11 A9: 09 September 7, 1979

.,

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Inspection and Enforcement Region II - Suite 3100 101 Marietta Street Atlanta, Georgia 30303

REFERENCE: RII: DGH 50-321/79-25 50-366/79-29

ATTENTION: Mr. R. C. Lewis

GENTLEMEN:

The Georgia Power Company wishes to submit the following information in response to your letter of August 17, 1979, describing an apparent noncompliance with NRC requirements noted during your July 23-27, 1979, inspection of Plant Hatch.

As required by Technical Specification 6.8.3.c and implemented by Hatch Procedure, HNP-818, Temporary Procedure Change, temporary changes are to be documented, reviewed by the Plant Review Board (PRB), and approved by the Plant Manager within 14 days of implementation. As indicated in the above inspection report four startup test procedures were not reviewed by the PRB and approved by the Plant Manager within 14 days of implementation.

This deficiency stemmed from an inadequate tracking mechanism of temporary procedure changes. Procedure HNP-818 has been revised and approved by the PRB to require that each department head be personally responsible for the temporary changes to procedures within his jurisdiction. This entails logging each temporary change and tracking it to ensure that it is reviewed by the PRB and approved by the Plant Manager within 14 days. Full compliance was achieved on September 1, 1979.

The above inspection report contain no information which is believed to be proprietary.

Very truly yours,

W.a. Widner

W. A. Widner

Manager - Nuclear Operations

JAB/mt

79092065/\$ \$\phi\$
1054 26\$ 79039/
OFFICIAL COPY

## Georgia Power 🛕

Mr. R. C. Lewis Septemer 7, 1979 Page 2

xc: J. H. Miller, Jr.
W. E. Ehrensperger
F. G. Mitchell, Jr.
C. F. Whitmer
R. J. Kelly
J. H. Boykin
C. R. Thrasher
M. Manry
R. W. Staffa
L. T. Gucwa

C. E. Belflower
J. T. Beckham, Jr.
D. L. McCrary
R. A. Thomas
V. C. Valekis
G. H. Burson, Jr.
R. A. Glasby
R. F. Rogers
Route to SRB Members